Fun in Melbourne!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
October 26th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is my final week in Melbourne, in fact, my final week in Australia before embarking on the final leg of my trip, so I thought I should write a final Aussie entry!

The weekend I returned from the outback, Mick and I went down to Colac to attend Mick's football awards presentation evening. I assumed that a function like that would require us to go suited and booted but Mick reassured me that it was the country and therefore no need. So, the jeans went on and we headed out to the event. We walked through the doors to see everybody in suits and dresses and so I immediately didn't want to be there! I knew nobody and had to sit through hours of speaches and applauses before the cheesy music and disco lights began! My idea of hell! The next day Mick drove me along the great ocean road to see the twelve appostles and some other sights. I was really looking forward to it until we hit the road. Bend after bend after bend made for a rather green Amy and I had to get Mick to stop the car about 4 times so that I could make a quit escape from it all! I couldn't even get excited when we spotted 3 Koalas sitting up in the trees! Still, We made it to Lorne where we got some awesome fish (well, shark) and chips by the seafront before heading back.

Since then, Mick and I have been taking it easy. We went to the Caulfield cup, the races infamous in Australia. THis time we did wear the correct attire. I got to wear a dress and a fascinator which I had made especially and Mick looked dashing in his suit. In the first race there was a horse named Amy Jayne Power so I had to bet on her! She lost. As did the next 3 horses I bet on, but what the hell! I was drinking champagne at the races in a nice dress!

The rest of the week has basically been used to organise the next part of my trip and catching up with Russ (my friend from home) in the city. I'm getting a little anxious now about Thailand, but in 4 weeks time I'll be back on home ground, so I'm smiling.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb