With nothing to do I'm sure busy.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
January 18th 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I must prefaces this entry with the fact that I am not actually busy like I would be back home, but almost everyday I have something to do. Whether it is going to the bike shed to work on my bike (which i have to do again on Friday for the third time) or a day trip that we have planned or doing mundane things like laundry and grocery shopping. It helps that every places has unusual hours, if I want to go to the Market it is only open Tuesday and Thursday 6am to 2pm or 6am to 4pm Friday to Sunday and the bike shed is only open Friday to Saturday; 11am to 5pm. LOL there (at the bike shed) 11am is considered early. I’ve also tried to keep up with running and on a cool day it is awesome, though once it is warmer than 25 degrees or high humditiy, I go for a walk in stead. This weekend we took a trip to Torquay home Quicksliver, Billabong and surfing beaches. On the train we were able to see some of Australia's interior landscape, surprisingly a lot like Alberta. Though I am sure if we get a chance to take the great ocean road the resemblance to the prairies will cease. While we were in Troquay, we found a surf shop that offeres surfing lessons, which Chris is very eager to take, I’m game for trying it at least once. The day we were there the lessons were "chalker’d" (full) but Chris and I will be going back to take lessons. All in all our day in Torquay was quite relaxing, we sat on the beach gorged on "self serve" frozen yogurt and had awesome fish and chips. Getting around Australia is unbelievably easy, from one large country to another, Canada really missed the boat on trains and making it afford able to get to various parts of the country.











Currently Chris and I are in the midst of trying to figure out what we will be doing for our February break, right now the top runner is doing a camper van relocation, so we will get to road trip across a large part of the country. Our fingers are crossed that we can find a Melbourne to Darwin trip! By doing the relocation of a campervan, our fuel and rental will be paid for, so we will get a cheap adventure across Australia! If not we will be trying to either go to the Great Barrier Reef or Ayers Rock.







We hope all is well back home, we are doing great here but miss everyone back home! I’ll try to write more soon.







Beckie and Chris







p.s. feel free to comment and ask questions!


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSCN0734DSCN0734
DSCN0734

Watching the Australian Open
DSCN0740DSCN0740
DSCN0740

Fish and Chips
DSCN0745DSCN0745
DSCN0745

Torquay
DSCN0747DSCN0747
DSCN0747

Torquay Beach
DSCN0748DSCN0748
DSCN0748

Frozen Yogurt
DSCN0749DSCN0749
DSCN0749

Torquay Beach
DSCN0750DSCN0750
DSCN0750

Torquay Beach
DSCN0487DSCN0487
DSCN0487

the tree was there first I guess
DSCN0489DSCN0489
DSCN0489

North Melbourne


31st January 2012

Looks like fun!!!
Beckie Looks like all is well with you guys,sounds like your having a good time..AWESOME.. Things all well here,probably heard our weather has been unseasonably warm for Jan...On the plus side of zero,daily..and looks to be this way till mid Feb at least..Yaaay.. Will follow your journey from time to time..Enjoy your time away..
16th February 2012

Hi Larry! It is great to hear from you! Things here are really good, lol I am a little disappointed I am missing such nice weather back home but there is nothing to complain about here. I hope all is well with you and that you had a great Christmas and New Years! I can't believe that is almost 2 months ago! Oh how did your son make the flight to Mexico? Though I haven't seen a game it seems like the Oilers are having some great moments in 2012 - Sam Ganger's 8 point night! I'll be updating the blog soon as we will be taking a road trip to the outback! I can't wait!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb