Study Tour Highlights


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » CBD
October 27th 2019
Published: October 27th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Cathy & I are in Australia although we’ve not been together that much.

Cathy came out on 1st October and has spent 4 weeks with daughter Nik and Granddaughter Solli doing all sorts of home improvement projects. I did my share too... but we’ll spare you the details..

I then went off to do a Railway Study tour, organised by the Chartered Institute of Logistics & Transport (where I’ve been a member for over 40 years...good grief). We did a week in Sydney when I commuted into the City but stayed at Nik’s, and then a week in Melbourne.

There is no need to reherse the various seminars, visits to tram depots and construction sites etc., but we did do a few very worthwhile touristic things which I’ll summarise here and include a few photos.

A dinner cruise round Sydney harbour, on a splendid evening.

A behind the scenes climb up the clock tower at Central Station Sydney

A great steam train ride on a heritage line several hours out from Sydney

A 12 hour train ride to Melbourne included two rides in the cab... very cool

A coach tour along the Great Ocean Road - which CJC and I did back in 1997.

A tour of the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, with dinner overlooking the hallowed pitch

A visit to Sovereign Hill near Ballarat.....back in time like Beamish but with a goldmine, stagecoach and much else..

More tomorrow including Cathy’s overnight train journey to MelbournE.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



28th October 2019

Oz again?!
How many apostles are left?
29th October 2019

Yes...this trip was driven by the CILT study tour...too good to miss!
And it’s been 10 months since we were her last. I remember the 12 Apostles from 1997 ...there are only I now that I could count, but new ones get created as well as destroyed by time and tribes..

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb