Melbourne Part one of Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
August 1st 2010
Published: August 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

The last three months in Australia, I am sad to say have been pretty normal…

I arrived in Melbourne the second week of May, Dave had found us a great house just north of the city in an area called Brunswick. It is an alternative neighborhood that reminds me a lot of a straight Capital Hill. The local pubs always have live music, and there a lots of little trendy shops in the neighborhood.

Because of our location transportation was so easy. Melbourne’s public transit is awesome and I will miss it very much.

We lived in the house with two Aussie’s. Brett was from Sydney and Rowena is from just four hours away from Melbourne. It was an awesome living arrangement, I couldn’t have asked for better roommates. There was also a lovely cat named Mr. Adventure. He was actually only lovely for the first few minutes of holding him, and then he would bite me and then he wasn’t so lovely anymore.

I got a job the first week that I was in Melbourne in a great restaurant/bar called Bertha Brown. The staff, the owners, and the management were all very special people and I am going to miss them so much. Leaving there was so hard; I had a little breakdown as soon as I walked out the front the door. If you want to check them out you can go to their website at berthabrown.com.au.

I really don’t have much to report on Melbourne, the city is huge, very artistic, and there is graffiti everywhere but in a legal way. The city in general is very into going out, live music, great art and amazing food; all of which I really didn’t do too much of because of the cost. AUSTRALIA = LOTS OF MONEY.
I did spend one day out of the city in an area called Healesville, which is in the Yarra wine area. We went to a sanctuary where I saw my first kangaroo and koala. I still haven’t seen one in the wild. It was a very nice day.

The last week in Melbourne we purchased a car, we have named Cricket. She is a 1988 Mitsubishi Nimbus and will be my house/transportation for the next part of my life in Australia. More to follow on that chapter, but it will be a very long road trip.

I miss home a lot; it is very interesting to travel in a country that is so similar to the US. But I am really looking forward to my adventures through the big country.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



1st August 2010

melbin!
I've been there! Went to a couple clubs there, one was called 7, and i can't remember the other one...

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb