Beach Trip!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Lorne
February 25th 2013
Published: March 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So today is the day that we leave to go on the beach trip in Lorne! All international students get to go and there are a bunch of peer leaders. I packed at night, so I could just wake up and go, so I grabbed my friends and went down to the bus stop. There were a few people there and pretty soon the bus came and me and Jess decided to sit together towards the front because she gets sick. We had a peer leader Edward sit in front of us. We talked to him for a while, he was really nice and Jess and Duncan were sitting on the other side of us talking to another peer leader. All of the peer advisors are there because they have all been abroad themselves and studied in a different country. My buddy was also on the bus, but he didn't recognize me and I didn't talk to him because we were busy. The trip to the beach took about an hour, but it was really pretty view, the beaches are so gorgeous! The road was really windy though so Jess didn't feel too hot.

When we finally arrived, we were dropped off for some food, it was just some sandwiches but they tasted okay, I sat with my friends and other people sat down with us, but it was so loud in the room that it was impossible to hear them, I could hardly even understand their name. There were 3 busThen we had a little welcome presentation which was kinda funny because there was a slide that said we drive on the left side of the road, not the WRONG side. He also introduced all the peer advisors and forgot one guys name which was too funny. After that, we got out orientation folders and went outside to play some ice breaker games and we had to meet other people. I was in the yellow group and all my other friends were all in pink which was sad but Jess and I were gunna hang out anyway because we weren't going to do all the activities because I couldn't bike on my ankle and I can't go in salt water to surf.

A bunch of people stayed at a nice hotel but the pink and yellow groups were staying at a backpackers. I wasn't too happy because it was kinda gross and had spiders all over it but I got over it. We were spending most of our time at the beach, we only had to sleep there. Jess and I chilled for a little and let most people leave the backpackers and then we walked to the beach stopping at a bunch of shops along the way. The shops were nice, but pretty expensive so I didn't do much shopping but I did buy a scarf....I have a serious problem because it was $20, but it was so cute!

We finally hit up the beach and laid out trying to get a tan (I put on plenty of sunscreen). After a long day of chilling in the sun, we walked back to the backpackers to get ready for dinner. We had to get shuttled back to the hotel for dinner which was actually delicious, they really know how to do chips (french fries) here! For entertainment tonight, we had couples limbo, I really wanted to do it, but I couldn't find a partner 😞 We watched anyway and it was absolutely hilarious! They were given tips as to how to do it the first few times but then everyone kept getting through so they stopped getting tips. When the bar finally got too low, no one made it through and then the guy hosting was like guys this is so easy! and then I started a chant for him to do it, everyone joined in so he then did it and succeeded! It was crazy. Since everyone had gotten out, they all got to go in again and this time all but one group made it through. Finally only one group was left and the bar was so low! Literally like a foot off the ground. It was this super tall guy and this other guy that won too so now I can never say that I'm too tall for limbo.

After that was over we took the shuttle to this bar and chilled for a while, I didn't get a drink but some other people did, others had wayy too much at the hotel beccause they were so wasted. There were actually two shuttles running but one of them had the door fall of so that clearly couldn't be used. This one guy came up to me and was like I don't know where I am or how I got here or how I'm supposed to get home. I found out that he actually missed the shuttle and some hobo helped him get there and he had to find some way to get back to the hotel. Oh well, not my problem. We only stayed there for a little while and then we went back to the backpackers and went to bed. Jess, Duncan and Katie had surfing bright and early in the morning and I went with them to go take pictures of them. I just read my book on the beach, I bought the silver linings playbook at the book store yesterday so I was really excited to read it. So far so good! After that we decided to go to for some fish and chips for lunch but that was too expensive so me and Katie split a pizza which was also very good.

After lunch, Jessica (different one) and I went to yoga at the hotel, it was a far walk so that kinda hurt my ankle that i still have problems with from when I sprained it in africa but I'll live I suppose. Yoga was a lot of fun though, I could get used to that, it felt great to stretch out and relieve some pressure, plus there was a relaxation thing at the end and I felt like I was gunna fall asleep.

Dinner tonight was not as good as last night but still not too bad. A bunch of us played pool at the hotel because there wasn't much else to do, but the pool table was so crooked that it was kind of a game of chance and not skill. While we were waiting for the shuttle to go home, we saw this really wasted girl grab the drivers face and go you're my favorite, it was so hilarious! Finally when he came back and we were getting in the shuttle I told him he was my favorite too but I wasn't drunk enough to grab his face. Although he probably did think I was drunk because when I got off the shuttle I fell on my face because I tripped over the side walk. I'm just that clumsy! OI! I hurt my (other) ankle and jammed my knee which hurt a lot! but I tried not to complain and just went to bed. Katie and I moved to Jess's room because two of her roommates moved out, since we're all friends we ended up talking for a lot of the night and finally went to bed around one ish.

In the morning we went to breakfast and then just waited for the bus, Katie walked with me to a pharmacy and I got an ace bandage for my ankle. When we finally got on the bus, we sat behind Matty who had played pool with us the night before. He was really funny and at one point I said bananas and he made fun of us Americans because we pronouce it wrong, which clearly I can't express on here, but we also say pyjamas funny apparently (we started talking about bananas in pyjamas)

When we finally got back to campus we unpacked and went to the common room and played some pool and made dinner and just hung out. 😊 Pretty awesome beach welcome trip even if I didn't get to surf!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb