4 down, 3 to go!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
February 22nd 2013
Published: March 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So I have officially stepped foot on four continents now, America, Africa, Europe, and AUSTRALIA! I met up with a bunch of girls taking the same flight as me from LAX they were all wicked nice, but they're going to Burwood and I'm at Geelong. 😞 We also met this guy who lives in Melbourne that just spent the last month in Canada snowboarding. He was giving us a bunch of tips on stuff which was really nice.

The flight was okay, but there was quite a bit of turbulence, there was even a point when the pilot sent all the flight attendants to their seats because it was so bad. I don't really mind, I just went to sleep because finally it was night time in Australia. I could only sleep for like 2 hours though and then I woke up. I put my eye shades on and listened to music so that my brain wasn't working when I should have been sleeping in Australia so that i would adjust to the time difference better.

When I "woke up" I watched Lincoln, Argo, Here Comes the Boom, and another movie that I can't remember. Lincoln was my least favorite but I liked all the others. Argo was really good too. I was in the very back of the plane so it took me forever to get off but my friends were waiting for me after we got off and then we went to customs. It took like over an hour which kinda stunk but we eventually made it and said goodbye since we were going to different campuses. It took about an hour to get to res, then we all checked in, there were 4 girls from philly here from the same school. I unpacked from my suitcases and went to go get my ID card and my internet password. Then we went off to Target/the mall for some supplies. I needed a fan, it is wayyyy too hot here! I got a few other things but thank god I brought a comforter, sheets and pillows cuz everything is expensive.

I had no idea what to do for dinner, but while we were waiting for our ride to the mall two RAs saw us and said they were having a BBQ for the internationals and the RAs. It was fun, I met a bunch of people, had some snags (sausages) and enjoyed all their accents. Two of the philly girls live in the unit right next door to me so I talked to them for a bit, but also met a girl from Cali and a guy from England, as well as two guys from Austria.

Thank goodness we found out about that because we would never had known what to do that night. The next day, I didn't have anything to do so I went to explore around campus, the campus is really big and nice. Kinda confusing though. After that, I ran into this RA Sam from the night before and some of his friends. Then we chilled in the lounge and played some pool. The two philly girls, Meghan and Shannon came over and then we went and explored campus again. This time we found little ducklings, they were so cute! We went back to their unit and tried to order pizza but none of us had a phone so we went to the common room to try to find someone with a phone, but they were making tacos for dinner so we joined. The two Philly girls ended up leaving but I stayed for some tacos, they put avocado on it here, its actually really good.

The next day I went to the lounge and Dylan, the English guy and Katie, the girl from Cali were in there so we were all just hanging out and then two girls came in from shopping Jess and Liana, Jess is from NC and Liana is from New Zealand. We all just hung out that night. We headed in early though because our orientation beach trip starts tomorrow! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb