Day 22 Wedderburn to Lake Fyans Sun 7th Nov


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Lake Fyans
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Wedderburn to Arvo Tea


Additional maps: arvo tea to St arnaud | St Arnaud to Wax Garden | Wax Garden to Arvo Smoko

Must be getting quicker or less messy because the cabin was tidy and I was packed and left at 9.45am instead of 5 to 10. No hang on; I had done some pre packing the night before.
Decided to go back to Kooyoora State Park and have morn tea, not back up to Melville Caves for more leg flogging slope climbs! Instead just of the Inglewood Rd. When I arrived the wind had picked up a bit which disappointed the birder in me; a windy day means bad birding they don’t like being out in either. But I stayed and made my cuppa any way. It cheered up a bit so I got to hear and then see a few nice birds; Australasian Grebe (on the dam), Spiny-cheeked Honeyeater and Eastern Rosella to name a few.
On the drive to St Arnaud I had just left the Logan Wehla Rheola Rd at Logan to get onto the Wimmera Hwy when I see a dead wallaby on the bridge over Fenton Creek. Seeing as I was slowed right down I pulled off the bridge and walked back and dragged the animal, by the tail, off the bridge and onto the verge out the way of being hit again and coursing an accident. It was then just a short drive into St Arnaud.
After collecting a map at the Info Centre, on where to find the Wax garden, and going to the public Toilets to wash my hands. I walk the short distance into town and found a cafe. I had a sandwich made, without peanut butter but all the other ingredients where in it, and bought an egg and bacon mini pie. I ate the pie on the way back to the car, it was lovely flaky pastry and obviously homemade. I found the turn into the St Arnaud Regional Park and then the picnic area at the Wax Gardens. I got my peanut butter out of the ‘food store box’ and the only knife I had with me, a big sharp carving one! Then I opened up my sandwich, spread on some peanut butter, closed it again and made the cut though complete (and of course enjoyed the end result).
While eating lunch the weather started to look dicey, the whole day had a thunder stormy feel about it, about 10 drops fell. After finishing my lunch I had a lovely stroll around the Wax Garden which was still a blaze of colour; peas, heaths, lilies and daisies. The most exciting moment was when I finely tracked down the bird that had lead me on a marry chase for 20 minutes. It would call from one spot and then move and call from another, I was sure it was on the ground too. It was a Crested Bellbird, sorry no picture this time. It tried to rain as I was searching for the Crested Bellbird and I mean tried! Only about 15-20 drops each time.
When I got to Stawell I found a cafe for a coffee and cake. After driving around Stawell a couple of times trying to find the Info Centre, which remained lost for the rest of the day, I needed it too. It was then just a short drive down the Lake Fyans Rd (over shoot the corner, turn around and go down the right road) to the Caravan Park. I got to Lake Fyans at around 3.30pm which gave me plenty of time to stretch my legs, do a bird list for the site and sticky nose at the many permanent onsite caravans.
With a microwave dinner in my hand I sat down to (try) and enjoy Mark Carwadine and Stephen Fry’s programme on New Zealand birds in particular the Kakapo, a large flyless budgie like parrot. The ABC 1 reception was pretty dismal in my cabin it was cutting in and out with sometimes the picture and sometimes the sound, aggravating.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb