Day 24 - Echuca


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Echuca
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was spent being a tourist in the inland haven for tourists. I chose to begin my day with a walking tour of the 80 most interesting historical buildings/sites in the old port town. The tour started of in a most interesting way by taking me directly to McDonalds. I was a little puzzled at first, thinking that perhaps this was a clever marketing ploy, but on reading the tour notes I learnt that there had once been an old building on this site. I stopped after site No. 18 because it was getting too hot to continue walking, and transferred my touristic tendencies to a paddleboat cruise on the Murray River. This was a pleasant hour-long cruise, but my visions of cruising the mighty river were not matched by the site of rows of houseboats moored at the almost invisible riverbank.

One sight that surprised me was the number of trees on the bank that were looking like one more flood might mean their demise. They seem to be standing proudly on a mass of exposed roots just challenging the river to have one more attempt at defeating them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th February 2009

Good photos
Those photos are really nice. 5 weeks nearly gone. Couldn't believe! Looking forward to sharing your story when you return.
24th February 2009

Hey...................where are you?
There's no entries since the 19th. It has been very interesting reading about your journey and looking at the photos. I like how you colour co-ordinated your tent with your bike.
25th February 2009

Apologies for my tardiness
Sorry about the delay in posting the final day's blog, but by not posting it made it seem a little like I was still on holiday.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb