Early Warning, We’re Off Again. Not Too Many Firm Plans, But Europe’s The Destination


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Bacchus Marsh
September 3rd 2022
Published: September 3rd 2022
Edit Blog Post

The 10th of September , three years ago, we were in Porto, Portugal. No masks, no isolation, no Covid-19.

Right now we are masked up, isolated, and sweating on the chance of me getting Covid in the next 5 days. Sue currently has it, but despite advice that I should just get it, and move on, I am now at the point of no return. I’ll mask up for the next 5 days. I simply cannot risk it.

The reason is, is that we are flying to Paris on Saturday, or not.

Bangkok is our only stopover - 7 hours - until we arrive in Paris. We are staying in a hotel near the Opera House for one night, before catching a train at Gare de Est, bound for Luxembourg.

Once we arrive at Tim and Natalia’s place, we have 7 unplanned days to rest, and look around Luxembourg, free public transport ( What a crazy idea.), then Tim, Sue , and I will drive to Tours in the Loire Valley, have a look at the dry river, haunt a few castles, and move on south and east to eventually end up back in Luxembourg. There’ll be a bit of Switzerland along the way in that.

From Luxembourg, we have the luxury of Germany, Belgium, France, and the Netherlands all a short train ride away, so some plans will firm up before then.

For blogging on this Trip, some days will be too mundane to report on, but I’ll put something up with some pics just to keep you updated. I have a new camera but unfortunately this blog doesn’t support video, so I’ll put a short video on Instagram, and I’m pretty easy to find there. Plus I can do snapshots from the video to put on the blog, and they will give a different perspective, I hope.

Well, if this is too much for you - I’m tired just writing this - then let me know, I’ll unsubscribe you, and you’ll be spared the daily intrusion on your life. Or, just delete them as they pop up.

Sorry for that bit of negative spin, but we’re pretty excited and will be relieved once we board the plane.

Well, that’s all for now, I’ll possibly do something from Paris to kick it off.

Walking in Spain again next year if the gods approve.

Seems to be more ads on the site now so you’ll just have to navigate them.

Advertisement



4th September 2022

Safe travels
Hi Steve, Marcelle here, enjoy your travels, we were in France in late May, Brendan and Rupert are living in St. Antonin Nobel-Vale a medieval village in the south west, gorgeous place. We also went to Toulouse, Carcasson and Couliere on the Mediterranean coast, we were a only in France for three weeks. St.Antonin is in lovely area, a wine growing region, at the moment weather is still in the high to mid 30’s. Brendan says he’s over the hot weather. Safe travels and enjoy your time with Tim. Marcelle
6th September 2022

Cheers Sue and Steve
Looking forward to seeing your next adventures. Will be making notes on where to go for hopefully next years travel. So lots of photos please. Have the best time, D
10th September 2022

Thanks
Plenty of pics, Denise. Hopefully.
9th September 2022

Covid vaccination cards...
I just returned from Scotland and Sweden and was never asked to show my card, or answer any questions about symptoms.
10th September 2022

Different here, Bob
Have to mask up in Thailand Airport, most don’t, and had to show vaccination certificate to board in Melbourne. It will slacken off in Europe, I’m sure. Hope you’re all well

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb