Day One and Two: Getting There. Melbourne - Bangkok- Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
September 11th 2022
Published: September 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I will preface this minor gripe by saying that we will be in Paris in 29 hours.

And that’s Paris, France. Not Paris, Texas, not Paris Street in Kallangur, Queensland ; Paris, France.

Killing seven and a half hours at Bangkok Airport after nine and a half hours on a plane, with another twelve hours to look forward to, may not seem like a great way to kick off a trip.

And it’s not.

I’ve just finished a brief snooze lying across three very hard plastic seats and I think my back had taken the shape of the ceiling at this airport ( see pics).

And I’m no more relaxed.

Security in Tullamarine seems to have gone higher tech, as they no longer require you to empty your bags. COVID Vaccination Certification was a must though.

Bangkok, on the other hand was extremely thorough and I had stuff spread through four plastic tubs, had a full body scan, a whip over with the magic wand, and luckily was chased up to give me back the items they had taken out of my bag to make up a fifth plastic tub, that they hadn’t told me about. Only my camera, spare batteries, and shaver; about $800 worth.

Still, they have a big job. This airport is a small city with every step another opportunity to spend your money. Duty Free everywhere.



The plan in Paris is to get a train and an Uber to our hotel near the Opera House, offload our stuff, and go sightseeing. I don’t expect it to be a late day; we’re buggered.

If the drugs don’t kick in on the next leg of the trip, I may make some inflight observations. Otherwise, Zzzzzz.

Well, the flight went well and , being night and travelling into more night, the plane was silent. I had a kidney shaped beanbaggy thing around my neck and the purple airline blanket but can never get comfortable in such a restricted area. After trying more positions than the Karma Su…….., well anyway, I ended up sitting upright with my blanket as a cushion at my lower back, and my arms folded ; disturbed sleep for 7 hours. Pretty good.

As the plane banked south into Paris , the blended shades of pink and blue against the clear sky bode
Paris Paris Paris

Snug, but in a very safe, prominent location.
well for the day.

Immigration was divided into Europeans, Australians and others. Luckily we were in the minority, so the ‘preferential’ priority treatment Europeans were offered actually slowed them down.

Then you wait for your luggage. Now, I don’t know if you’re aware of this, but the name Sherry on a case always has it as the last one out, or not at all, as happened to my backpack in 2018. It was being minded for me in some officials office until I reported in to claim it. I now know dirt and sweat must smell like drugs.

Border Force, Customs, or whatever they are here, are nothing like Australia, where a young man stopped me and asked me if I had enough money for my trip. How thoughtful. He actually asked how much money I was travelling with.

In Paris, the officers lean against a bench chatting, occasionally looking up to admire the ladies. Older folk struggling with too much luggage are no threat in France. There’s always plenty of help available if you can’t navigate their ticket machines, or don’t know what queue to get on.

In Thailand and Paris, we were approached
Cafe Downstairs Cafe Downstairs Cafe Downstairs

Was looking good for breakfast until 2 coffees cost €9.8 and then he took a tip out of my change.
and asked if we were the people needing wheelchair assistance- I think they were talking to Sue - and if they asked me now, the answer is yes. My back didn’t like 29 hours of being cramped and it’s rebelled.

A quick train ride latter, past all the housing project areas you don’t see in the brochures, and an Uber ride, we arrived at our hotel near the Opera House. The concierge regarded us as VIP’s - his words not mine, often repeated - and we had our room cleaned while we waited, so we could be in before 11am. Tim booked the room, so I’m not sure who he thought we were. Not politicians I hope.

The room is about 300 metres from the Opera House and a 10 minute walk from the Tuilerie Gardens and all they have to offer. Lush gardens, a lake where kids push little sail boats with sticks, and cold creamy ice cream to name three.

We visited the Opera House where the legendary Phantom was thought to inhabit, and it really should be close to the top of your Paris Things To See list.

Above the Eiffel Tower. There,
The beginning of an Opera House Series of pics. The beginning of an Opera House Series of pics. The beginning of an Opera House Series of pics.

No words needed. Plus I’m feeling a bit lazy at the moment.
I’ve said it.

I’ll leave it to the photos to tell the tale but it must have hosted some wonderful shows and experiences for the people who matter. Still does. €12 entry and worth every cent.

Dinner tonight was anything I could find at the local minimart that can be prepared and eaten with plastic spoons. That’s the extent of our cutlery, and Sue is done for the day. I’d like to think I will go for a walk later to see a bit of Paris After Dark, but my back has other ideas.

Well, that’s a little summary of our transit day, and while it was an endurance test, we’re here . I can understand people who hit the point where the holiday doesn’t justify the trip, but if half of your family lives in Europe, you push on a bit longer.

Tomorrow is a train ride to Luxembourg, and then a few quiet days before be begin The Grand Tour of France. Til then, cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Foyer Corridor to the TheatreFoyer Corridor to the Theatre
Foyer Corridor to the Theatre

All these room descriptions are not official. It’s Steve-speak. Possibly false but it sort of flowed that way.
Corridor.Corridor.
Corridor.

Check out the floor. All tiles.

Theatre Theatre
Theatre

Rehearsals and Show preparations continue regardless of tourists.




11th September 2022

Safe arrival
Glad to read you arrived safe and sound 🙏🏼 if a a little out of shape 😂 enjoy your few days of rest 😘
12th September 2022

OTT
That Opera House is even more OTT than I remember. Have a great trip. Are you caminoing? We live in tassie now. We have left the Marsh but happy to house sit in the Marsh if you ever need it. Sue and Michael
12th September 2022

No Camino this year. Next year for sure.
Tassie? Big move but I don’t know why you waited. It’s paradise. We’ll look you up next time we are there. Did the Three Capes earlier this year. Really beautiful
12th September 2022

Avoiding the transit agony
With regard to long transits… pre purchase a ticket at one of the available airport lounges that are not airline associated. Worth every cent (about $40 a head) . Shower, food, often massage available and comfort!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb