Leaving Cummins toward the West


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Stone WallStone WallStone Wall

Drystone Walling
Up at 5AM today as we knew that the temperature was going to be very high. It takes me 2 hours from getting up to starting the ignition and be on my way, John is not doing very much now, and I am happy to see him looking after the water connection as well as the electric one. That means of course that I do the rest, any caravaners can tell you what is involved and I will not go into details, except to have a grumble about the sway bars, it had to have been invented by MEN!!!!! I need to have a crash course in weight lifting!!!!
What a silly system….. I am going to look at changing for a Reece.

We did not think that the temperature would soar to a scorching 47 degrees, and as I type at 5 PM SA time it is still over 40 in the van, even with the air conditioner working, the fridge is not coping, and I rely on an esky and ice to have iced water. It is very important for John to keep the fluids up, but he definitely prefers a glass of wine!!!!
My poor little puppy
Stone WallStone WallStone Wall

Drystone Wall Explanation
is also suffering, but he has learned very quickly that to be on my bed is the best spot, as the coolish air passes over him.

On the way, we stopped for a break and discovered the stonewalling. I believe that a man could lay about 20 metres a day for 10 schillings. Can you imagine that today?

When we arrived at Port Kenny and after I managed to unhook the van, we visited the Talia Caves; about 20 km south of Port Kenny were we are staying the night.
It was a nice drive and I was able to cool a little in the car. (A bonus)

Tomorrow will see another early rise, as we are aiming for Ceduna, with again a temperature in the mid 40.
I am hoping to get there early to have a journey free of problems with John as well as with the car, so until then….take care on the road.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

EllistonElliston
Elliston

Great Ocean Drive
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

From the Top
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

View from the Top
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

The Way Down
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

The view
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

Another Perspective
Talia CaveTalia Cave
Talia Cave

The Cave


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb