Visiting the west coast


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Ceduna
February 8th 2017
Published: February 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It has been a few months, since I last travelled this great continent we call Australia. So, on the 3rd of February 2017, I made plans to pack up my swag and head to the West coast of South Australia. The town, where I was staying at is a place called Ceduna, about 450KM car drive from my hometown of Whyalla. Whyalla is on the eastern side of the Eyre peninsula, while Ceduna is on the western side, meaning I crossed a number of towns along the way. These towns being, Iron knob, Kimba, Wudinna, Minnipa and Poochera. As I drove through the heart of the Eyre peninsula with the music cranked up, I surveyed the dry barren landscape and farmland, a definite reminder that we are in the middle of summer. I stopped for a lunch break at Wudinna where I grabbed a feed and a drink. The locals were friendly and I was satisfied with my feed. Driving on I had to stop at Poochera to go to the toilet. I was awe inspired by the remoteness and quietness of the place. Not a soul in sight. As you see from the photos, I surveyed the old farming machinery, which had me thinking how hard people worked back in the day to make a living. After this, i set off again where eventually after an hour I arrived at the Ceduna Shelly beach caravan park. The manager welcomed me and showed me where I could set up my swag for the night. The weather was warm and the birds were chirping as I set up my tent and planned what I was going to do next. There was a few other campers there too, who were friendly and as you see from the photos, the park had a well built camp kitchen with a wood stove. I set off to visit the main street of town. I wasn't that big, but it had all the shops that would cater for the tourist. After all, Ceduna is a small outback town with a population of approx 2,289. The foreshore was quite impressive and although not the best, it still made for a quick rest break. The time seem to fly past real quick and before long i was having tea back at the caravan park. After dinner i decided to go for a swim at Shelly beach. It was nice to be able to swim at a decent beach for once. I quite liked the beach. I was the only soul around. The next day, had me travelling up the coast. I stopped at a fishing town called Streaky bay for about an hour and a half. It was quite a relaxing town with friendly people. Whilst, i dindn't have the time to see everything, i would reccommend people to pass through Streaky bay when travelling the Eyre Peninsula next. Afterwards and for the next 3 hours saw me travel home in rain and a bit of sunshine. Whilst it wasn't a glamourous trip, i do reccomend it to people on a low budget or someone who really needs that getaway for a bit. Also don't forget the fishing rod. I forgot to bring mine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb