Barossa Valley Wine Trip


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Barossa Valley
February 26th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a day looking round the city I thought it might be nice to get out into the country side, and why not kill two birds with one stone by taking in a wine tour. Edith being such a wine lover was really up for it so we set off at 9am for a full day trip.
First stop in the Barossa Valley was the Wolf Blass winery. Tried about 8 different wines including an extra special one which we had to pay a further $5 to try as it cost $200 a bottle. Shortly after that we went for dinner so I decided to try Kangaroo again. Quite like it now but it is a bit more chewy than steak. After dinner we set off to a further 4 vineyards, I had been determined all day that I wouldn’t buy anything but by the time I got to number 4 and since I had insisted on trying every single wine through out the day, the cheeks were beginning to glow. I decided I’d treat myself to a nice bottle of tawny port. That would have been ok if it had stopped there but I then decided that at the last
Worlds largest rocking horseWorlds largest rocking horseWorlds largest rocking horse

This was at the first toilet stop, great ay.
winery, a flagon of Bastardo port was such good value I just had to have it. Didn't really think about getting back to Melbourne on the plane but never mind. By the way a flagon is 2 litres for the lay people. Anyway had a fantastic day and managed to sleep the fuzzy head off on the bus ride home before setting off for a couple of beers later that night. You’ve got to be a warrior when you’re traveling the world.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb