yippy...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
June 5th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, I've finally slowed down a bit. It's been nice and relaxing. After a rough night out at a pub Saturday night, I ended up spending the day vegging on Sunday (after a short hike in the morning).

My kangaroo eating experience was quite yummy. It's like a very gamey type of steak. Mmmm....

Today we started the day with a nice massage and then went for a hike to the Mt. Lofty summit...one of the highest points (if not THE highest point) in the Adelaide hills. So...now we're killing time until the restaurants re-open for dinner. It's weird...restaurants here close down at about 3:00 after lunch and then don't re-open until 5-6 for dinner. It's a little difficult when your working on a tourist's schedule (eat when you get around to it).

So as for Aussie beer...I really haven't seen Foster's here. And if I did, I probably wouldn't try it. They've got some great Micro brews around that are really good. And the local beer to Adelaide is Cooper's, which is also quite tasty.

So, I'm almost ready to come home. I've gotta get that softball team back in order! If you all can't beat the British Embassy this week, I'll cry.

It feels like I've been gone forever. And now that Ronit's gone, I do feel a little more homesick. Go figure. I really miss making drip coffee...it's all espresso based here. Don't get me wrong, it's good, but it's just not the same.

Anyhoo ha. What's on the agenda for the rest of the week?

It'll be pretty chill...will probably check out the city of Adelaide again. There's a history museum and an Art gallery that should be good.

We'll also be checking out Hahndorf...a german-settled city that supposedly become a tourist trap. Oh well...we'll get a nice german meal in.

Oh! I saw my first Kangaroo in the wild today. Oh wait...it wasn't my first, it was more like my 3rd, but it was the closest I've been in the wild yet. They're so cute. And so tasty. 😊
The birds in Adelaide are aweseme too...we've seen all sorts of colorful birds in the wild. The short hike we went on yesterday was in a park that had hundereds of Rainbow Lorakeet's...these pretty brightly colored birds. We've seen some cokatoos and parrots in the wild too. Pretty amazing. Sadly, no Kukaberra's, though. 😞

Okay...I think we've almost killed enough time to get some dinner.

Did Tony really get busted for beer on the mall???



Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb