Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 19th 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Gregory Downs - Lawn Hill


June 19, Friday.
Left the Gregory River about 8:00 this morning. Heading west on another outback track. The first 50 kilometres were in excellent condition then the last 50 kilometres were rough and didn't think I was going to make the final 10 kilometres because it was only fit for 4-wheel drive vehicles. It took me until 10:30 to arrive at Lawn Hill National Park. With most of the day still available I booked into the campsite and found Gordon and Trish. They told me we were lucky to get a campsite. The ranger only allows 100 campers in the park. It can take more but the park suffers. The lush green grass that I pitched my tent on was soft like carpet. Very different to what I had experienced so far on this trip. Had a good yarn about what they had been doing since we parted company at Escott. They knew all the good spots to visit in this national park. Did a walk up the “Island Stack”. After dark spent time at their tent and talked until late.

June 20, Saturday.
7:00 in the morning and I was on top of the “Island Stack” starting my fourth video. The sun rose making the gorge glow a brilliant red. Took another walk around the "Island Stack” before heading back to the camp area, then off to the second gorge, which was quite impressive. In the afternoon around 3:00 I hired a canoe and went for a two-hour paddle up to the third gorge. Spent the evening drinking with people who live in Mt Isa. Slept well, although it was cold.

June 21, Sunday.
Slept in until 8:00 this morning, then just messed around the camp until mid-day. I have done 11,000 kilometres since the beginning of May. Running short of cash. Coins: $28.00, Notes: $40.00, Bank: $113. Total: $181.00. I still have around 3,500 kilometres to get back to Melbourne and ten days left before I’m due back at work. Took the 35mm camera down to the rapids got some terrific shots. Pity I only have print film left. Talked for while with another English girl.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb