Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cloncurry
June 22nd 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lawn Hill - Cloncurry


June 22, Monday
Drove from Lawn Hill to Cloncurry with no dramas. The scenery ranged from grass plains to light scrub. On arrival at Cloncurry I went to the Lands Office to enquire about property at Burke and Gregory. For just $5000 you can buy a block in town. A building of some kind has to erected on the property within a year was the only condition. Further investigation, shire rates seem very high so I didn’t buy anything (haven’t got the money anyway). At the Post Office I sent off another 3-hour video and phoned mum, dad and the children. Pitched the tent at the caravan park. Had something to eat, then went to the pub for some liquid refreshments.
It was a quite pub and I sat alone in the middle of the bar. Behind me a group of Aboriginals were playing pool. At the other end was an aboriginal girl drinking. After a few beers I noticed an Aboriginal girl come through the door and went up to the girl who was drinking alone. A short argument ensued then a fight broke out. The new girl was giving the other girl a hard time. After a couple of hits to the face, the barman tried to seperate the two and got a kick where a guy doesn’t want to be kicked. That was enough for him to take the troublemaker outside to try to quieten her down.
While this was happening I had moved down to the far end of the bar. The girl with a blood nose came to me and asked if I could get her out of the pub. I looked around and saw the pool players who had been watching the fight and said to the girl, “Can’t they help?” She answered, “They don’t like me either.” The only way out of the pub was over the bar and out the back door. Once outside she asked if I would take her home. She directed me through the darken streets of Cloncurry.
I was driving slowly but missed the turn off to her street. The streets are very wide and not much traffic, I turned onto the wrong side of the road and across the dirt centre strip to the right side and thought no more about it. Flashing lights behind me told me I had been caught doing the wrong thing. I pulled over and walked back to the policeman and explained what had happened and apologised for the traffic error. When I’ve had a few beers I tend to talk too much and the policeman picked up on the state I was in. He got me to blow into a breathalyser, when I gave it back to him I was informed I was on the verge of being over the limit. It was best I return to the caravan park straight away.
Then I had to explain whom I had with me. He walked to my car and looked through the passenger window and told me I had the town troublemaker on board. He said, “Ok, take her home but when you get there just let her out and go.” Couldn’t see a problem with those instructions and we drove off. At her house she said, “Could you come in and explain to my mum and dad what happened?” She was worried they wouldn’t believe it wasn’t her fought. I said “They would understand.” but she insisted.
Up the driveway across the front porch with more then a few planks missing, I followed her through the front door. Inside there was a crowd, all family members she informed me. I quickly explained what happened and turned to leave. She had some large brothers and they thanked me for looking after their sister. “Have a beer, mate.” “Sorry I can’t I’m on the verge of being over the limit.” I replied. As I walked back to my car they followed, insisted on me excepting a drink. Had one can and got into the car, started it up and left. They didn’t have much time to move out of the way but I could see this was going to get out of hand. Spent the rest of the night worrying they would come looking for me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb