Day 7 - Nardoo Station, Cunnamulla


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Awoke this morning to a light covering of frost on the tent .... and the remains of a small snow fall, needless to say it was bloody freezing!! First challenge get a hot cup of tea and try and stay warm, although I wasn’t cold in the night thanks to the beaut swag from Kath & Derek !!

Knocking down camp was fun .. not ... Even though I don’t feel the cold ( still wearing the now infamous shorts) my hands don’t function that well when cold, so folding the tent and especially zipping the tarp back on the trailer was a tad annoying ... however still managed to hit the road by 7am ( thats 5am WA time by the way !!)

Clear skies at last, made the journey today through the outback very pleasing, seeing hardly anyone else on the road apart from the odd caravan and road train, I had the outback to myself. Stopping to watch Wedgetail Eagles sore in the thermals, took lunch at the last pub in NSW called The Bush Tucker Inn, with the best outdoor dunny I have ever seen.

I am back in Queensland already ... it real hit home how much a dash across country this has been ...

Tonight I am less than 1300 kms from Airlie Beach, camped at Nardoo Station ( 35kms north of Cunnamulla on the Matilda Highway) and for the first time since setting out can write my story sitting outside the tent in sunshine, but with a bitting wind.

On the down side my direct charging from the Suzi to the deep cycle batteries has failed , although I can get a charge this evening with the solar panel ... A job for Airlie Beach auto electrician I feel.

Off to continue reading the most inspiring book by Dr Linda Gregory called Past, Present & Future ... I feel this book might well help change my already changed life .. Thanks Linda ...

PS It seems that I can’t get out of the gathering around the camp fire tonight, so with a mug of Cape Bouvard Chardy in Hand .. I set off into the unknown ...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb