Backpacker Style


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
October 11th 2003
Published: October 11th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Having one year of clothes and sulpplies into 1 backpack, reading the t-n-t magazine everyday, eating 23 cent noodles, drinking the cheapest box wine, cramming into a hostel with 10 other people in 1 room, taking up others' slang, and best of all doing things you would never have done before. I have to admit that I've experienced all of this while being a "backpacker." When I get back to the states, people aren't going to be able to know what I am saying or understand me. Being as I work at a pub in cairns, I've taken up sayings like: cheers-thank you, no worries-no problem, and how you going-how are you. It's funny to think we have the English language in common but are sperated by dialogue/slang.

First coming over to Australia I wasn't the most efficient backpacker, especially having a suitcase and a backpack and eating out everyday. I think now I have this backpacking thing down. I am in sunny cairns working in 1 of the busiest pubs in town, PJ O'Briens. Not to mention, I'm bartending-haha-how do yo pour a Guiness and what is a bournon dry?! And yes, with my middle name being Chardonnay, I've resorted to drinking box wine. Oh and I sent my suitcase home because I couldn't be bothered with so many clothes.

nNw that I am a backpacker, I've been working in Cairns to save up money and have moved into a flat with Brie and 2 other English guys-a backpacker luxurya. I will be in Cairns for another month and 1/2 and plus the Rugby World Cup is keeping PJ O'Briens busy.

So on the agenda of thinks taht I would never do before but are to experience as a backpacker: ger certified to dive in the great barrier reef, sky dive in new zealand, rough it in the outback, rent a car aong the Great Ocean Road driving in the LEFT side, 4WD safari in the world's largest sand island-fraiser island, sail Whitsundays, and experience what I never have before.
My address:
Erin Frey
1/58 Digger Street
Cairns North QLD 48702a
Australia

Advertisement



Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb