Wahoo- Long Island!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
October 22nd 2006
Published: October 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Check out the view!Check out the view!Check out the view!

It was just about worth the snake incident for this view- just!!
We got to the resort at Long Island last night. It's beautiful. Palm trees everywhere with parrots flying in between the tree tops and wallabies hopping around eating the grass- they're so cute! Dinner was great- I had shrimps and peeled them all by myself- impressive or what?! Had them with lemon and tartare sauce- very tasty! Also had salad, garlic ciabatta and some spanish mackeral. We had a few glasses of wine then decided to hop in the jacuzzi! It was great. The pool has got bar stools under the water so you can get served drinks while you're in there- something I have to try before I leave!

Today I went on a bush walk- just me and kate. We thought we would be on a guided walk but the guy showed us the way in and left us! I had my first encounter with a snake which scared the absolute **** out of me! It jumped out from a bush, flying through the air at me. Fortunately I had been keeping an eye out so saw it in time and leapt over it. (Whilst screaming!!) It was so scary and I can't tell you how glad I was to finish the walk and go to the beach- well away from the bushes!!

We went to the beach at the resort- it's the most spectaluar beach I've ever seen. We paddled out then decided to go canoeing (they were open top canoes for 1 person). I got a pink one (of course!) and we had so much fun rowing ourselves around. Although the tide carried us out without us noticing and we got pushed way beyond the buoys we were told to stay within. Again, you can imagine me panicing about sharks and rowing as fast as I possibly could back to the shore!! All was well though and after all our hard work we decided to spend the rest of the day sunbathing.

It was lovely and I'm now getting a nice tan. Looking forward to dinner tonight then it's karaoke later! Also think I might have a nice cocktail by the pool. This truly is the life!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb