One Big Party!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
June 12th 2006
Published: June 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm back. And I had the best time EVER on this sailing trip! There were 18 of us on this small little sail boat, but it was the best group to be with, because we needed to stay sane with the problem of bed bugs and cokroaches crawling around in our beds, and I'm no where near kidding. We were itchy more often than not.

There was a group of four Canadian guys on the boat who were just hilarious. The Friday night was one of their birthdays, so we had a huge toga party; using our bed sheets as togas and playing cards. Some other random sailors robed in togas jumped aboard as well, so our boat was just one big party!

The first night (Thursday), we got a snack of potato wedges and garlic bread shortly after boarding, and I was so hungry, so I ate up. Then.........the captain told us the first two hours were going to be a bit bumpy, and that's when it hit me that I didn't feel so good. I got really sick the first night, but so did two others, and I practically felt sick each morning after eating breakfast, but all I needed was a little fresh air, and I was back to normal.

On the friday, we all got to go diving on the great barrier reef. We saw some pretty big fish, so it was pretty much amazing! At one point during the day on saturday, we all saw about ten or so dolphins poking their heads out of the ocean and playing. That was the coolest thing I think I've ever seen.

On Saturday, though the weather was a bit rainy, we visited Whitehaven Beach, which was absolutely amazing! And I'm talking crystal clear water, and whiter than white sand. Picture perfect. My American friend, Kellianne, and I walked along the beach for about an hour. While walking, Kellianne noticed something in the water near the shore, and it turned out to be a little reef shark, then about two minutes later we saw a huge sting ray, so we got some pretty cool pictures.

After we got back, we all met up again at the bar at our hostel, "Beaches" for some drinks. I was supposed to greyhound it out of here last night at 11:50 pm, but I was having too much of a good time, so I called and rescheduled my trip for tonight. Everyone still feels like they're on the boat with the rocking back and forth, and I feel the same. It was especially bad trying to stay standing while showering last night, because it felt like I was still rocking in the boat.

Overall, though we didn't have very good weather, and there was the problem with the bugs, I couldn't have chosen a better group to sail with. This had to be the best time I've had in Australia so far.

Tomorrow I'll be in Agnes Waters, and the Town of 1770, then it's off to do my safari trip on Fraser Island, then Noosa for some sweet surfing, then Brisbane to find work. Looking forward to relaxing before I have to start working again!! I'll be sure to keep you posted!

Marie 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.4kb