Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We took our last overnight bus from Hervey Bay to Airlie Beach, where we would get our boat to sail the Whitsundays. It was a 13 hour bus and really did feel like forever! The weather was really nice when we reached Airlie Beach. Surprisingly, there isn't actually a beach at Airlie, its more of a harbour. But they do have a manmade lagoon so we spent some time there while we waited to check in. The hostel was ok, pretty average, but it had a good bar that was went to every night we were there. We had two nights here before catching our boat called "Powerplay". We had been told by Ozintro that this was the best boat to get, so we were really excited about it.

The first night, we went into the hostel bar and listened to a guy singing while playing the guitar. He was REALLY good and we listened to the end. The next day we looked around the shops and went to registar with the company we were sailing with. They told us that the waters were quite choppy and to maybe buy ginger tablets to help prevent seasickness. Knowing what I was like with car sickness I did what she suggested and boy was I glad I did!!

We would be spending two nights on the boat so we left all our luggage behind at the hostel and just took one smnall bag each. We went to the harbour and had a few forms to fill out. You were able to dive on the boat, but I had been told that visability wasn't great and that if I wanted to dive I shoul;d wait until Cairns. The crew were really pushing for everyone to dive - obviously because they wanted the money! So I put down on the medical that I had asthma which automatically excludes you from diving. Stephen got roped into doiung it, but Lynsey managed to insist not to as she didn't have enough money.

There were 18 of us on the boat and when we first saw it, I had no idea how we were going to fit on! Powerplay was a catamaran, have no idea what its size was. Me and Lynsey had a bed downstairs and Stephen was sleeping upstairs on the sofa beds. I was glad we were downstairs, as it was a proper bed and we didn't have to wait for everyone to go to bed before we could. So we set off on the Tuesday.

OH MY GOD! The seas were very rough and I became very pleased with my purchase of the ginger tablets! I have never experienced seasickness before, but the whole time we were moving, I had to concentrate very carefully so I wouldn't throw up! Poor Stephen did throw up towards the end of the first day, although he didn't again for the rest of the trip. I think Lynsey was the least affected out of us three. I was so happy when we stopped at our first dive/snorkel spot. I couldn't wait to get off the boat! We got our wetsuits and snorkel gear on and me and Lynsey went off snorkelling, while Stephen did his first dive. It was really good and I did see a lot of fish and the colours of the coral was amazing. The fish were so colourful and I really wish I had a waterproof camera! Although I doubt it would come out clearly on a photo.

One plus with Powerplay was the food - it was delicious! There was always lots of it too! We were allowed to bring on alcohol, which we had, but with the seasickness, us three had decided not to drink as we thought it would make it worse. The first night it took me a while to get used to the rocking of the boat so I didn't get much sleep! The next day we went to Whitehaven Beach. Its a gorgeous beach with sand that is so fine, its like talcum powder. Unfortunately it was raining so we didn't stay long. The weather was brilliant the while trip to be honest. Also, we didn't really click with the others on the boat like we had with the group on Fraser.

I went snorkelling one more time on the second day, but the visability wasn't great so I didn't stay in the water for long. Overall, I had a nice time, but it wasn't what I expected. The boat was more all about diving, rather than seeing the islands of the Whitsundays. I don't think it helped that the weather was so poor as well. I would like to take a day boat trip to Whitehaven again in the summer if
Whitehaven BeachWhitehaven BeachWhitehaven Beach

Bad facial expression on my part!
I'm near Airlie beach again. I have stupidly left my camera in the hostel so I will upload photos later. I have now uploaded photos on all my past blog entries, so if you havent seen them all, take a look! Bye for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



6th July 2010

Seasickness
Fully sympathise about the seasickness as there is no more awful feeling on earth than that. Glad you were able to snorkel but was happy you made the decison not to dive. Pity the weather wasn't too good but as you say you could always go again in the summer if near Airlie beach again.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb