Whitsunday Islands


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Whitsundays
March 2nd 2010
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Whitsundays where named by, who else, Captain James Cook, who came here in 1770 on -you guessed it- Whitsunday.
The best way to explore this area is by booking a sailing trip for a couple of days. I booked myself for 3 days and 3 nights on the Whitsunday Magic, a beautiful schooner with three masts. It turned out to be 3 great days with fantastic food on board, wonderful weather and a cocktail or two.

One day was reserved for diving, doing 2 dives on the Great Barrier Reef. I saw a big and locally famous "Napoleon Maori Wrasse" (picture here) whom the locals call "Elvis". This big fish is used to humans and is a curious one as well. He swims right up to you and loves to be petted. Amazing! If you want to see the actual one I saw, check this video out starting at 1 min 10 seconds. I didn't make this video and I wasn't there then, but this must be the one I saw!

Besides diving, I also did some snorkeling there, which was also very good.

The second day, the weather was fantastic and hot as well. We were lucky, because it was the rainy season. Because the evening was nice, I decided to sleep on the deck, under countless stars, a great experience. It reminded me of the only other time I did something like this, which was on a boat in Halong Bay in Vietnam, also recommended!

One of the highlights was Whitehaven, a shallow bay with the whitest sand on earth and beautifully coloured water. It is photographed for many holiday brochures, so you may recognize it.
Most of the time, these 3 days were just relaxing, enjoying the views, reading a bit and enjoying an occasional "Tom Collins" cocktail. Highly recommended!
Check out more pictures below, and they continue on the next page!



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th March 2010

WE LOVE THE PICS
we do

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb