Tropics


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
April 14th 2011
Published: April 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Heather and Simon had to work and the kids were still in school (their last day before Easter holiday) so Heather dropped me off at The Strand where I spent 6 hours laying on the beach and swimming.  It is a beautiful strip of beach in Townsville that th community had turned from a simple walking path into a beautiful place to play, walk, run, and swim. It has lots of open grassy parts as well where they hold concerts and events. 

Since we are in the tropics there are a few rules to be learned, some of which the hard way. I had known from being on vacation with college friends that the sun is stronger and you need to apply a lot of sunscreen and often (my good friend Tiffany had the fairest skin and got badly burned while we were on FL) so as I applied copious amounts of zinc and sunscreen I thought I was then protected.  Apparently I flunked sunscreen application 101 as I got fairly burned.  The sad part is that I was burned on my arms where it was really easy to apply sunscreen and I just didn't rub it in very well.  Better luck next time!
After Heather picked me up we went to Emily's  violin lesson and then went back to the house where  Simon picked me up and we went for a hike up Castle Hill. Castle Hill is in the very center of Townsville and is just meters short of being classified as a mountian. We made it up in less than 25 minutes, but it is not an easy climb as almost the entire hike is comprised of stairs made of stone that are varying in height. The view from the top is spectacular and you can see all of Townsville.

After our hike we made it back to the house and had a lovely dinner and by the time the kids bed time rolled around (8:30) I was exhausted and was in bed not too long after that.

Friday should be a fun and exciting day since the kids have off of school and Heather off of work!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



15th April 2011

Sunburn
I remember that sunburn all too well... Sorry B! Hopefully yours will sink in a little faster and you'll be brown in no time :)
15th April 2011

Well thats one way to get a Tan
There seem to be alot of rules for suntan lotion. Apply to dry skin, not wet. Apply after coming out of the ocean. Reapply after 4hours.
16th April 2011

Intense Sunburn discussion
I agree with Marcus, there are too many rules. Like apply fifteen minutes before going in the sun, but let it dry before putting your clothes on, I mean really they want you to stand naked in the bathroom for fifteen minutes just waiting and then when you reapply theoretically wouldn't that have to be back in the shade as well? I know that on my honeymoon I had bought th 100SPF with helioplex and followed every single rule, including reapplying every 2 hours, and I still got burned to a crisp when I went snorkeling! Until they invent a SPF in pill form, I think I am resigned to life as a burnt beach bunny, because I really do love the sun.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb