Cape to Cape - against the wind


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Townsville
April 6th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Summary: I've been struggling (not that much) against north, north-easterlies as I'm crossing largish bays to Townsville (where are the south-east trade winds that are suppose to blow day and night in this area this time of year?).

Day 61 Abbot Point
There's a large pier here where they load coal. I don't think one is supposed to land here, but, the place look deserted, and the beach looked good, so I did.
When I took off (at 2 in the morning), I did see some activity on the pier.

Day 62 Cape Upstart
On landing, I met the "mayor" of Cape Upstart - Andy (he kind of watches over the (mostly deserted) vacation homes on the cape. He invited me up for a meal of grilled stakes and onions - that sure hit the spot.

Day 63 Cape Bowling Green
Long paddle today (though not all that many miles - but I was paddling from 2AM until 4:30PM).
Had a 'false stop' at Alva - my intended destination for the day. However, after landing and unloading the 1st bag, while carrying it to high tide, I came across some water that was still ebbing - and too deep to cross. I loaded back up and continued paddling to the top of the cape (difficult, but it did save a day in getting to Townsville).
Crossing these wide bays has been agrivated by the 'unfriendly' wind and my lack of sleep (and lots of rain).

Day 64 Cape Cleveland
Another long day (and sleepy - I'll catch up in Townsville).
Landed on a bit of a beach. It had no shade, but luckily, it was mostly cloudy (did I mention it's been raining a lot on this trip).

Day 65 Townsville
I was fortunate to wake up and pack the kayak in dry conditions. On arriving in Townsville - it was pouring rain.

Andy



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb