Days 55 - 59


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bowen
April 1st 2006
Published: April 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 55 - Cape Hillsboro
Finally got out of Mackay (actually, the long break in a Motel was quite nice - and it allowed some of my 'travel wounds' to heal), the cyclone weather is out of the way.
I paddled up to this nice looking beach - that looked as far away from civilization as one can get. What do you know, but a flock of tourists start wondering the beach - just got off a tour bus from Hervey Bay (and, curiously enough, I saw the same bus in Shute Harbor the next day).
There is a national park here, and also, a caravan park.

Days 56 - 57 Shute Harbor
Long paddle - I've got to stop doing this to myself.
I left at 11PM, and paddled with 3 tide changes (2 - with the tide current assisting me, 1 with it against me - and no where to pull off) until 3PM (the following day). I took an extra day in Shute Harbor to rest up.

Day 58 - Saddleback Island
A small, coral crushed/sandy beach - part of Gloucester National Park. Nice view of the surrounding islands. I slept in the next morning to wait for the high tide. (slept in for me means leaving after the dawn - I got off around 9AM).

Day 59 - 60 Bowen
Easy paddle to here. I'm taking another bit of a break, don't really need it, but I'm in no hurry.
The 'crack' in my heal seems to be healing. It's still there, but I think there is 'skin' underneath it (ie: it's not an 'open' wound).
My heals didn't bother me at all on my (short) paddle, however my legs were cramping up (if it's not one thing - it's another).
Then, when landing and unloading - in the hot & humid conditions, the bug bites on my lower legs and ankles started itching horribly. I think the combination of the heat/humidity/saltwater must to something, but it was an intense itch.

Next time we meet probably won't be until Townsville, quite a few days from now.

Andy




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb