Another step in the RIGHT direction!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Surfers Paradise
November 1st 2010
Published: November 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

SO! Today I paid for my passport - $208.00 dollars, $2.50 for bank statement with Toowoomba address, $10.00 for parking, almost 90 mins of waiting, and 3 different service people, 4 phone calls clarifying whether I had to make an appointment or not.

Apparently this is the easy part, so I shouldn't complain - but really, I think it could have been a LOT simpler. Poor Jade had to fill out my application twice (the second time with black pen haha!). Ah well it is done now and I should only have to wait 2-3 weeks and it will be delivered! I'm very excited, this will be the first tangible step towards my trip.

Also, it is exactly 1 month until I start my TESOL course. I have just started looking in Toowoomba for Vietnamese community groups so that I can at least get some (very) basic conversational skills happening from my end. So far I haven't had any promising leads but I think the next step will be to post something up on one of the bulletins at the uni.

All I have left now for my pt course is 3 pieces of taped assessment which I should have knocked over in the next couple of weeks.

I have noticed that my attitude has changed in small ways towards things like clothing - who cares if people are going to judge me for wearing this dress - I'm going overseas man! Such a small thing, yet so huge as well. Also, I have quite a shoe, clothing, and book collection. Most of which I am going to have to store/get rid of before I go. The books I'll take to the book exchange, and clothes and shoes I will give away. I will be coming back at some stage I know (sheesh I could hate it and be back in a month!) but my aim is to be able to live out of a suitcase. Admittedly a very BIG suitcase, but a suitcase all the same. So this means I'm selling my fridge, washing machine, dryer, tv cabinet - all the sort of stuff that I can't lug around.

Its the first of November already and I'm only just realising how much I have to do before I leave! Oh well, surely 4 months will be enough time!

This is really happening folks :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.2kb