i'm not so keen on apples these days!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Stanthorpe
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

state borderstate borderstate border

we live in NSW and work in QLD
Anyone who knows me well enough should know that my favourite apple is a Granny Smith....well i hate them now!!

Eventually after a few weeks of sitting around Brisbane spending way to much money we got offered a job apple picking. Obviously we took it, how hard could it be.....very!! We took a bus from Brisbane and 3 hours later we were dropped off at the Big Apple in a place called Thulimbah (that is where the orchard is). 10 of us started together that day, only 4 of us left (not bad going for 4 weeks of work). We joined the other girls on the bus and Tony (the orchard owner) drove us back to our new hostel in a tiny place called Wallangarra. I found out the other day that Wallangarra/Jennings has a population of 600. The hostel is an old abbatoir. It's very basic and the my first impression was not a good one but i was surprised how quickly it has become my home. I actually quite like it there now and i absolutely love my bed! I usually go to bed about 7, very early, but no choice really cos we either get picked up
WallangarraWallangarraWallangarra

this is where we live
at 4am or 5.15am. This week we are on the early bus. We arrive at the farm about 4.30am and sit in the cold waiting for day light!!

I have my very own apple bag, number 20, a ladder too, number 1 and tractor R. You soon get used to climbing the ladder and risking your life every day! A girl actually broke the ladder today and obviously fell off it. We now have to use the safey clip on the ladder, i'm thinking we should have been told to use them from the start but hey i've not fallen off my yet! I have missed the bottom step a few times but i have survived. Also when a rotten apples sticks to the bottom of your shoe it's very slippy especially when you don't realise and you start to climb the ladder! We get 10cents a kilo so you can imagine how much we need to pick to make some money. We are getting better every week and starting to make a bit of money but at least we are not spending anything here. Rent comes off our pay cheques so we don't need to pay that out.
maxmaxmax

not sure if he is a horse or a dog! He lives at our local pub
Can't wait to get all my tax back and my super annuation.

We are loved at our new local, Jennings Hotel, we even have our very own seats outside. Lynne and Anne (the owners, sisters) are brilliant, they even bought us a drink the other day after a very tiring day at work cos i gave her $3.60 in 20cents and Nic was even worse, i gave her 5 and 10cents to pay for hers!

I'm sure there is a lot more to say about picking apples and living in the middle of nowhere but i can't quite remember right now. We are in Stanthorpe just now having our once weekly trip into town to get our shopping etc.

Took some photos at work today but will get more before i leave.

X X


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

b'day cakeb'day cake
b'day cake

the nice ladies at the pub baked me and Becky a joint b'day cake
Nic as Cat WomanNic as Cat Woman
Nic as Cat Woman

last weekend we went to the pub in bin bags!
Nic at the orchardNic at the orchard
Nic at the orchard

she loves it really
the bins we fillthe bins we fill
the bins we fill

the granny smiths are actually pretty good
spider!spider!
spider!

it was on an apple i was about to pick but i managed to knock it off!
Missy the dogMissy the dog
Missy the dog

she always manages to find me when i'm eating my sandwiches!
tree frogtree frog
tree frog

i love these little frogs
nic driving the tractornic driving the tractor
nic driving the tractor

she is getting better
state border state border
state border

me, nic, becky, emma and jen
bbq last weekendbbq last weekend
bbq last weekend

loads of free food and drink!


27th March 2009

hide and seek
hmmm i need to find some green clothes i think...........
27th March 2009

Little green apples
Well at least you sound like you are still having lots of good times, and early nights!! Next time I bite into a Pink Lady I will be thinking about you and Nic. Sitting in work bored, wish I could play hide n seek in the trees too! Think I will toast you both with a cuppa this weekend and an APPLE TURNOVER. Watch out for those spiders , they look nasty. lots of love from a very cold and windy Dundee xxxxxx
27th March 2009

Hi Ho Hi Ho its off to work you go
Hiya Stef, not sure if i added my email address to the last comment i sent a few seconds ago so heres another one. Looks like you are having lots of fun out in the wilds of Wallangarra, and the early nights will be saving you lots of dollars. Jennings looks so quaint, and your birthday cake looked yummy.... I will toast the two of you at tea break when I have a cuppa and an APPLE TURNOVER. watch out for those spiders though, they look nasty. Think I would have fallen off my ladder in fright . Its cold and windy here today, but its Friday, thank Crunchie. Enjoy your weeked, xxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb