Old Telegraph Track Monday 25th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Seisia
May 25th 2015
Published: May 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

TurtlesTurtlesTurtles

Found a fresh water creek on the OTT and it was full of turtles. They loved our stale bread. Not sue if there was a croc around. The water was pretty clear so we could see if one was coming. It was ok because I stood behind Tonina. Haha
Cape York Monday 25th

Woke up today on the Southern side of Gunshot creek. It was a reasonably steep entrance and also a steep exit although the exit was dry. The Troopy lifted its wheels off the ground quite a few times as it was going through Gunshot. Let me just say my adrenaline was pumping and heart racing. Troopy did well. After Gunshot we got to Cockatoo Creek. It made Gunshot look easy. The creek was about 30 metres wide and in two spots there were rapids. Oh my god what an experience. The entrance was steep and a little rocky and immediately followed by muddy sand, we then did the crossing in the water, the water got up to the bull bar and in the back the water was up to the exhaust. The exit was the worst, it was muddy and on a steep left to right angle. In other words I was nearly touching the ground with my hand and Tonina was flying up in the air in the passenger seat, OMG. Later, after that death defying activity we went to a place called Fruit Bat Falls. In the rain mind you. We went and had
RainRainRain

I again proved to the group that I was prepared for anything including unexpected rain.
a swim under the waterfall. What a beautiful place. Following lunch in the car park we drove through to the Jardine river crossing and will camp there tonight. And a final comment, my sister has not stopped laughing at me because she reckons my eyes would have been popping out as I was doing the crossings. Also it has been raining, sort of. Everyone has been stirring me that I have had all of the spares and parts we need for the trip, especially my sister Tracey. In the rain I pulled out my emergency ponchos and I did not hear the end of it. Why would someone take a wet weather ponchos to the cape. Well I used it. Hahaha. We all stayed at the Jardine river Ferry for the night. Toilets and showers but we had to share with a bunch of exotic animals. I was so scared to pee. Oh my dear going to the toilets in the night was a experience to be had. I took Tonina for protection. Haha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Jardine River FerryJardine River Ferry
Jardine River Ferry

This is the office for the Jardine River Ferry. This ferry allows us to cross the Jardine river into Aboriginal owned land. The office is owned and run by the local Aborigines.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb