Rainbow Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
June 10th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow BeachRainbow BeachRainbow Beach

The view of Rainbow Beach from Carlos Sand blow...Just below there are coloured sands
Hey all! The next stop after Hervey bay and Frazer Island was Rainbow Beach. Rainbow was an unexpected but pleasant surprise... it's relaxed and beautiful... reminded me a little of Waiheke. I stayed in Rainbow from June 1 to 10 at a cool hostel called Pippies... it was the first hostel in Australia that is close to the quality of those in New Zealand. I spent most days on the beach... surfing, swimming or just enjoying the sun. I spent my birthday there... pretty low key... my friend Jodi bought me a "Canadian Breakfast"(Pancakes and maple syrup). Couple night we went up to Carlos sand blow to watch the sunset... absolutely awesome! We also brought up a boggieboard to surf down the sand... then to clean up we jumped into the pool at some swanky resort. Another day Jodi and I went sailing with a local guy in Tin Can bay... this guy was the real castaway... he had a bread that put mine to shame. Couple guys I met in Cairns, Tom and Chris, showed up in Rainbow. They convinced me to leave Rainbow and head to Brisbine to watch England's first game of the world cup with our friend
Coloured SandsColoured SandsColoured Sands

Walking down the steep sand to the coloured sands on the beach
Simon who was staying there. So I was off to Brisbine... sad to leave the peace of Rainbow Beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

One big line!One big line!
One big line!

Chris having fun with the white coloured sand
How does this work?How does this work?
How does this work?

We purchasing a skimboard to surf down the sand blow, but it wouldn't slide! So we gave skimboarding a try
Getting the hang of itGetting the hang of it
Getting the hang of it

After a few big spills we managed to get going... don't I look graceful!
Hanging at the blowHanging at the blow
Hanging at the blow

Steve, Chris, Tom and I trying to surf on the blow with the skimboard... it didn't work


30th June 2006

yay, good to see you again cavernal dude! beautiful rainbow beach, shit, I wish i would have be there with you and for your birthday and try to be nice and smily all day and drink and burp together! BUT, anyway. see you later. take care

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb