Fraser Island and Rainbow Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Rainbow Beach
December 9th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After two long days of travelling I arrived into Rainbow Beach, one of the gateways to Fraser Island. The following morning I met the beast of a truck/bus that was to take me around Fraser Island. Fraser Island is the largest sand island in the world, is full of rainbow rocks, creeks, shipwrecks, lakes, rainforrest, beaches, dingos and people. Our guide took us to see much that there was to see and morning tea and lunch were provided! Lake McKenzie was beautiful but it was absolutely full of tourists, I walked 5 minutes round the lake to find an almost deserted beach, I couldn't understand why people hadn't made the walk!

The day I left Rainbow Beach, a friend and I decided to get up at 4am and do a 45 minute hike on an empty stomach to see the sun rise. We made it just in time to Carlo Sandblow and it was very beautiful and very worth it. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful when we got back though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

RainforrestRainforrest
Rainforrest

You can see a Kookaburra if you look carefully


11th December 2008

Soooo Jealous
I am not a fan of these updates! Makes me miss it sooooo much! Hope you enjoyed Fraser Island, and how cold is the Eli creek water!!!!!
14th December 2008

Sunrises
Heya, The sunrise looked great, I was doing a simiar thing in Cambodia last week. When are you in Malaysia and Singapore, I'm there around the end of January. Are you going to Kyoto in Japan, if so, go to the monkey park it's so cool (if you like monkeys). Enjoy the rest of Austrailia!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb