A short trip to Peel Island


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Anchored at Peel IslandAnchored at Peel IslandAnchored at Peel Island

Dunwich in the background
Woke to more rain. When it cleared, motored into the northerly wind and an hour later we were at Horseshoe Bay, Peel Island. S27 30.212 E153 21.813 A good chance to properly test if the autopilot followed a waypoint on the chartplotter and it worked well. Not as far as we would have liked to have got but a lovely place to stop in a northerly wind, and we even had some sunshine.

We have been here before but never with it so quiet, with only one other boat in the bay! Though a few others joined us later.

Motored over the clear flat water for a stroll on the beach. Naomi brought her rod and I tagged a small fish but it got away.

Heading back to the boat, we pushed the dingy away from the beach through the shallow water. Naomi was just mocking me for being 'uncomfortable' walking where there was some sea grass... it makes me a little nervous.... when I almost stumbled on top of a large wobbegong! I think about 1.5 m long.

I was in the dingy in a flash feeling rightly justified for being nervous. In some way of
WobbegongWobbegongWobbegong

AKA Carpet Shark
defense Naomi told me they cannot bite. However according to Wikipaedia they do have small teeth and can give a nasty bite, for example, if trodden on!

Back to the boat for a sundowner. Luke


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement





14th May 2013

Wobbee
Don't worry too much about the wobbee Luke I have not seen teeth on them. They have solid bony jaws, a bite would be like jamming your toes in a door after a few too many sundowners.
15th May 2013

Hi Naomi, Found out about this through Amy Fee's post on facebook. I have never joined a blog before and I am loving yours!! So excited for you and your beautiful family going on a dream sailing trip. Hope I can catch you when you get to Yeppoon!

Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 82; dbt: 0.2556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb