Noosa


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
February 28th 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our tent - NoosaOur tent - NoosaOur tent - Noosa

Look out for your washing line Los!
Hi all,

We are now safely back in Sydney and just about in one piece!

After Fraser we headed back to Noosa, another lovely beach town, a bit like Byron but with less hippies and kids. Anyway, I promptly went and fractured my toe while on a cliff walk. We were about 3km away from civilization and I was determined not to be rescued but it turns out that I am not easy to piggy back and hobbling was taking ages so in the end a ranger had to come and rescue me in his truck. We then spent the morning hobbling from doctor to xray place to hospital and the next couple of days on crutches. Luckily it's healing remarkably quickly and a week later I'm basically back to normal! I also managed to go canoeing and walk miles round Australia Zoo.....

Australia Zoo is home to Steve Irwin and while cheesy, it was in fact a very good day out. Steve was not there in person which was a shame as I would have liked to see him wrestling crocs and being bitten by snakes for real! We did get to see lots of crocs and every other Australian creature and also to feed kangaroos.

Not much else to report about the trip home apart from another couple of lazy days in Byron and one VERY wet night in Southwest Rocks (a tiny beach town). We'd heard there was flooding in Sydney but we didn't realise the same storms were about to get us and our tent! It rained solidly for about 24 hours and we were confined to the tent which was leaking with a lamp that wasn't working. In the morning however we were relieved to find it still standing and went on our merry way.

The only other thing of interest was coming across Manning Valley, Manning River, Manning Point, and most exciting of all, the Manning Magic School of Dance! I had always thought that the Manning clan were quite a well behaved, law abiding lot and now I have come to realise that this is probably because they were all shipped out here along with the rest of the convicts.

Anyway thanks for the comments u lot!

Hope you're all going well! More soon.....

Love Aims xx

PS. Han D - they had Cassowarys at Australia Zoo, I'll send u a pic!
PPS. Han G and Tigger - I'm on messenger to you while writing this.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd March 2006

Aim - How long will you be in Sydney?? And once you leave will you be going back there and when? Cheers baby - trying to work out if I've got time to send you a letter! Did you get my picture? Glad all is well I'm very envious, wish I was out there with you! x x x x

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb