Castle Rock and Roll


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
May 25th 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Townsville lived up to its reputation as being nothing special, well, apart from the lovely 363m high Castle Rock which looms over the city and afforded climbers some sweeping views of the urban sprawl and distant Magnetic Island. Talking of Magnetic Island, it does look appealing and the ferry over isn't too much, but I've seen fantastic beaches and lush rainforest and it's terrible to say, but I'm yearning for something different.

I stopped for two nights in Globetrotters, a roomy converted house, where I met Alex (German) and Mike (English), two really friendly guys who I wish I'd been able to spend more time with, rather than a quick burger, pint and movie. Regardless, it was fun, even with the dissapointment of the recently released 'Da Vinci Code'.

A hillarious coach driver, (since most coach drivers are Satan's spawn I thought him worth mentioning), brought me up here, to Mission Beach, the day before yesterday, driving through the rainforest that was so severely damaged by cyclone Larry. Mission Beach is a really cool place and I'm staying in the best hostel I've found in Oz - Beach Shack - another funky , huge, converted home with pool, TV, lounge, good kitchen, dinner table, tastful decor, lovely dorms and proper matresses with Disney duvets, all for the bargin price of $20!

I borrowed a hostel bike and spent yesterday cycling down the beach to Woogaling Beach and back through the town. Stopped in the local gallery and was really tempted to pick up a beautiful, very Australian, mixed media painting, (though not in that Aboriginal polka-dot style, since I really can't see the attraction), but at 400 quid inc P&P, I decided it wasn't quite essential. 😞

Later on that day I found myself at Lacey Creek after cycling miles out of town on the directions of the Tourist Info. Luckily I bumped into some rangers who were busy clearing the walking tracks after Larry's damage, and on asking if there was anywhere to swim around here they ummed and ahhhhed before pointing me along a closed track saying that I shouldn't tell anyone I was allowed in there. After wading through swollen creeks and streams I finally came to the 2nd bridge that the rangers had mentioned, stripped off and jumped in. It was gorgeous! Nobody around and me lazing in my private plunge pool, surrounded by tropical rainforest...perfect. Got bitten to death my midgis, but hey, it was worth it.


That night I jumped on a bus to Woogaling, (the next town), for drinks with one of my dorm-mates, (Naiomi), and we were ordering a schooner in Scotties bar when I heard 'Rick O Shea' being yelled from behind me. I turned to find my gorgeous girls: Emma and Gemma from 1770 screaming the nick name they've given me! Wicked night and we've planned to travel up from Cairns to Cape Tribulation together in Emma's car - sorted!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The view from Castle Rock, TownsvilleThe view from Castle Rock, Townsville
The view from Castle Rock, Townsville

Magnetic Island in the background
The view from Castle Rock, TownsvilleThe view from Castle Rock, Townsville
The view from Castle Rock, Townsville

Magnetic Island in the background


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 28; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb