Hit the road Jack...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Mission Beach
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

29th September 2009 - I'm outta here! Decided to go on 'alittle drive' across the country and see what i can find. Rod and Caroline joined me on my first night at the Golden Hole which was wonderful. A very fitting way to say goodbye to Mission Beach. I will miss the beach. It's been fun. But the time has come to see what else is out there. I will miss Amy & Nic, Rod & Caroline so much, but I carry them with me on my journey!

After a funny first night on the road with Rod and Caroline, we said our teary goodbyes at none other than the bakery at Innisfail (which may I add has the best nutty mushroom pies in the world), and parted ways. And so it begins...

I headed out through the tablelands, and after a swim at Millaa Millaa falls, i headed for McHughs Lookout to camp for the night. Gorgeous views from up there but it was blowing a gale and my first night was spent under 2 blankets, a sleeping bag, two layers of jumpers and tights and I was still cold! When dawn finally come the sunrise was all blocked out by the fog so it wasn't the stunning awakening I was hoping for.

Drove out through Ravenshoe (wind power central), out past Millstream Falls and onto Undarra NP. Undarra NP has the most amazing lava tubes, I enjoyed the trip.

Driving out through the country, I love the wide open spaces, the cattle, even the road trains! I love being out on the road, driving has always been a good thinking time for me, just you and the road. I listen to my music and let the time fall away. It's peaceful...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Rod, Caroline & MeRod, Caroline & Me
Rod, Caroline & Me

Golden Hole, QLD
McHughs LookoutMcHughs Lookout
McHughs Lookout

Tablelands, QLD


Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.2744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb