Kroombit Cattle Station


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kroombit
December 15th 2009
Published: December 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Local resident at the Cattle StationLocal resident at the Cattle StationLocal resident at the Cattle Station

I said "Hello" and he replied "Hello Boss"...no joke!
This was a VERY random part of the trip! So we left Airlie Beach at 7am (also known as 'crazy o'clock) to head into the outback for a night. We met our driver for the 2 days (Kino) and got to know the others on the bus...mainly people from Sweeden and a few English (and one crazy Belgian dude). I'm still not entirley sure why this is a stop off on the route down south...it is either to keep the cattle station business going (but with 10,000 acres of land i'm sure money is not that much of an issue), to introduce everyone to a bit of traditional outback Australian life or simply to break up the 600km+ journey to avoid spending about 18 hours straight on a bus! We set off and the further inland we went the hotter it got. It did however start raining in thye afternoon and by the time we got to the cattle station is was proper heavy rain. This is very strange as apparently it basically never ever rains there. Ever. It was a good relief from the heat! on the way we saw lots of kangaroos and we even stopped off to play...wait for it...lawn bowls. Now I know what you are thinking...and no I haven't changed sport...nor am I thinking about it. Again it was simply another random yet strangely satisfying part of the trip. Our team one with 7 points when the others trailed behind with 4 (maybe I have missed my calling there...) After the epic game we we back on the bus and got to the cattle station that evening. After a brief talk about the land and the lifestyle by the ranch owner (Alan) we had a massive roast dinner made entirely from local produce. After dinner we learn't how to crack a whip (it hurts if you get it wrong by the way) and I even tried a small bit of goat meat. We stayed in small cabins and it was wierd to open the door and see a little frog jump in the room with me. After about ten minutes of trying to convince this frog that it was in his best interests not to stay in the cabin with us, he eventually went under the bed and didn't show his face again. So in short, I slept in room with a frog, a crazy Belgian dude, a load of spiders and Dan. Great night. The next morning we we up at 6 (woken up by gun fire) and we went to do a goat rodeo. Now there pen was extremely muddy (if you know what I mean) and we went in bare foot. Not cool. I had the job of lifting the goat on it's side once it had been caught. Our team won the rodeo as well. We are defiantly on a roll. However...I discovered I am the world's worst clay pigeon shooter. Out of five shots, with bullets that spray out even more pellets to increase your chances of hitting the target...I managed to rack up a grand total of 0. After that confidence crippling moment, and an electric shock cattle prod game (don't ever play that...it hurts), we got back on the bus and made our way down to Rainbow Beach where I am today. We also crossed over the Tropic Of Capricorn and got a photo on the dividing line which was quite surreal. The trip was filled with lots of endless roads and sightings of kangaroos, wild horses and small villages. This morning we took a little boat out to Tin Can Bay to see some Dolphins (all included which was good). They came right up to the shore line and each at 3kg of fish. Later on today we have a briefing about our our next adventure which takes us out to Fraser Island. That is all for now but I will update again when I get back. I am however becoming increasingly confused with my current state of affairs. I am in Australia, yet it is raining. It is December, but I have a sun tan. I am wearing shorts, but there are Christmas decorations up. I really can't get my head around this! P.s now we are south of the Great Barrier Reef the surf is beginning to pick up which is always good news.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb