On the road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Ingham
May 27th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

27/5/2011.
120k 18av
Even after another night on the goon because the frenchys got another 3 boxs of goon, but i was smart this time i was in bed at 9pm, pissed but still in bed.
I was up at 7.30 am and on the road and out of town with a slight hangover. Not even 15min into the road i had a car turn right in front of me and dam near clean me up i had to break hard to stop, another great driver i gave the bird to. About 30k out i ran into my first cyclest on his way into town he was about to finsh his trip into cairns from dubbo.
I got 120ks for the day so it was a really good out come. I found a nice spot to camp so up with the tent and cooked a feed. After getting in to bed i started thinking about the camp sight i choose. I was 10k from a major river and in among a heap of swampie sugar cane. If someone was to say to me should they camp here i would say no you dickhead but pigheaded me just stayed there and was paranoid all night. I didnt get much sleep that night.

28/5/2011
110k 18av
Well im still bloging so i didnt get eaten by crocs last night so thats a good start.
Got to Tully in time for for lunch and i needed a break. I even went and seen the golden boot witch i didnt even know was there. It wasnt really much but somthing diffrent how often do you really see a giant gumbootin the middle of nowhere?
I got to Cardwell mid arvo and stoped for a break. I was very disepointed with the rebuild around the area. Theres still alot of roofs missing and even meny houses in pieces. One guy i spoke to has lost his whole house and still 6 months later waiting for insurance to come throgh. The beach front in still a mess with rubble it would be good if the goverment and army would get in there and help them out. But sence its no longer a disaster zone they dont care. They are there for the start then let someone else finsh it. Yasi really did hit them hard.
I found a truck stop at for the night it was a bit close to the high way but im sure ill sleep well. I had cops pull over for a chat i thort they were going to kick me out but they left me.

29/5/2011
101k 17av
Easy day on the road, i stoped 20ks shy of townsvile in a free camping spot. I camped with a bunch of grey noamads for the night they were great for a chat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb