Sweating it up in Ozzie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
January 12th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok first of all, deffinetly not a tarantualla on my foot, its a made in Canada tattoo, I have no idea which of my friends don't know this by now, and which of you have such bad spelling, reviling even my own. I would also like to be putting up pictures on all these blogs but unfortunetly I have not been able to due to my lack of PC skills, I will add them all on my return to Canada.
Anywaise as you may have guessed from my title, Australlia is boiling, I managed to come at the hight of thier summer. Sydney was not too bad but the further North I go the hotter and more humid it gets.
Sydney was awsome, it is the kind of large multi-cultural city that I reallyenjoy, with an interesting aspect aroound every corner, plenty of cheap places to eat, and of course a substantial amount of museums and art galleries. I did not spend as much time in the museums as I probebly should have, Australlia is well used to the backpacker scene and as Sydney is the main destination for most backpackers it experiences a fantastic party scene. The opera house was not nearly as cool as I thought it would be, it seems rather larger in the pictures, although it was still an awsome sight. The bridge is a point of much pride in Sydney, as it should be, in its time it was quite an arcitectual marvelle, as every museum in Sydney will tell you. The two aspects of Sydney which I think were overlooked a bit by the guidebooks was Chinatown and the monorail, which provided me with fantastic, cheap food and a birds eveyview of the city, (a low flying bird like a seagull or somthing, just low enough to pick out where the garbage is at).
My next stop was Byron Bay, which I actually did'nt spend any time in, preffering instead to head up to Nimbin, the local hippy village for the day. Nimbin is by far the coolest city I have seen on my travels, for anyone at all interested in "hippie culture" I highly recommend going.
I am currently in Hervey Bay, the gateway to Fraser Island, which I will not be visiting as I unfortunetly do not have the time. The local YHA is terrific and I look forward to spending today lounging by the pool, writing in my journal, and relaxing in general.
After this, on to Arilie Beach, Magnetic Island, and finally Cairns!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb