snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef from Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Great Barrier Reef
February 12th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Great Barrier Reef...yes the world-renowned Great Barrier Reef. Now this was going to surely be an experience of a lifetime! I want to first note that although I am not a marine biologist or a scuba/snorkel junky, I have an impressive resume of snorkels. I have been out in the Caribbean several times as well as the Galapagos Islands. So on to the GBR!

Man was I excited...and later somewhat disappointed. I guess I can't be too negative, it was cool.. However it did not live up to my wildest dreams. I had to snorkel as diving was not an option because of certain health requirements, i.e. asthma, sinus problems. So we booked a large boat tour from Cairns as recommended by the travel agent we spoke to in town. I later came to find out that this was probably the problem right now. Our boat was big, with around 100 people ready to jump in the water. They took us to a reef location that was also the spot of two other large boats in the area... so within sight you had about 300 people in the water. I don't know what fish would want to stick around for that, and they didn't.

The reefs were amazing...coral gardens as vast and intricate. A lot better than the reefs in the Caribbean. However, there were not many fish at all. I guess my expectations were a little too high, hoping to see an underwater world with numerous species and plenty of fish to go around. I guess we can lay the blame on the big boats. One positive about the big boat was the staffed marine biologist who took me on a personal snorkel. She pointed out various species of coral and the fish we saw. She even free-dove down and picked up a sea cucumber to show me. But other than that... I was not blown away by the GBR.

From the various people I have spoken to since Feb, they have told me that Cairns is maybe not the best place to see the reef. The overnight boat cruises and sailing will hit more reefs and quieter locations. Also, diving will allow you to see more. The Whitsundays I hear are a great place for this, but don’t' get your hopes too high for the reef in Cairns.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb