Heron Island, Day 4


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Great Barrier Reef
April 16th 2008
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The reason I didn't go swimmingThe reason I didn't go swimmingThe reason I didn't go swimming

It was rather turbulent
After a night of disturbed, uneasy sleep (thanks once more, Shearwaters), I woke up and suited up for an early snorkel. It didn't come to be, however. The water was really rough, the current was running swiftly, the wind was strong and it had been raining all last night (so the visibility was likely crap). I decided that I wasn't going to risk myself on my last day at Heron and instead headed back to my tent to dump my snorkel gear, and walk around the island instead. It think that was the much better choice, honestly. The snorkelers didn't see anything new, and I would have been very nervous in the water as it didn't look very friendly.

On my walk, I was the first one to be on the beach that day--there were no other footprints on the sand (which was really cool). I ended up seeing heaps of birds, including a zillion herons, a really cool crab (which I took a zillion photos of), and had a really enjoyable, peaceful walk. It only takes about 25 or 30 minutes to circumnavigate the island, so I was back in time for brekkie. After eating, I proceeded to walk around the island again with Tanja, and then pack up my stuff and return my borrowed wetsuit in preparation for leaving HIRS. I watched several card games and read some before the ferry left for Gladstone.

The seas were really rough on the ride home, but I was totally out cold once more on the ferry ride. I swear, it's the combination of the rocking motion and the humming of the engines that makes me feel like a baby in a cradle and puts me out every time. I'm sure it was very attractive to see me scrunched up between two seats in my trackies and jumper, but I was whooped. It was the best sleep I had since my first night on the island, and I enjoyed my two hour nap very much.

We picked up the bus back in Gladstone and headed back to UQ on a 7 hour bus ride. I ended up reading a book for a good part of the ride, ate a very attractive dinner served by surly highway-stop convenience store workers (chicken fillet sandwich sounded better than the chicken nugget surprise. No, it really was called 'chicken nugget surprise.' I definitely
BeachBeachBeach

I was the first one to go walking today; alone on a perfect beach.
didn't trust the sound of that one bit). I listened to music and surprised myself by falling asleep once more on the non-reclining bus seats after dark.

The bus finally got back to UQ (at 12:15 AM), and I called my parents and Jon to let them know that I survived. Congrats on your Eagle, Ross! ^__^ You worked hard for it, and should be quite proud of yourself. Claire, I'm glad your Gold is almost done! I still need photos, you rascal. Miles, how ya goin' mate? Haven't heard much about you...

Showered and finally crashed at 1 AM...


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

GullsGulls
Gulls

... alone except for these fellows.
BeachBeach
Beach

Because it's pretty
Breadfruit (I think)Breadfruit (I think)
Breadfruit (I think)

You can eat this. It's just poisonous at first, so pick it, boil it, mash it, strain it and cook it.
CrabCrab
Crab

You are too cute. ^__^
Run away!Run away!
Run away!

I guess she'd had too much
Beach and birdsBeach and birds
Beach and birds

Fly away, herons!
Shipwreck from under the docksShipwreck from under the docks
Shipwreck from under the docks

What can I say? It's charismatic.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb