Trial post


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
April 21st 2014
Published: April 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's a beautiful Easter Monday morning. I am sitting here gazing across the Broadwater, humming with boats of all descriptions. I will miss this view when I start my new adventure cycling across the Asian continent from Shanghai, China to Istanbul, Turkey. I am uncertain of what I will see. Photos of earlier journeys show soaring mountain peaks, snow coverage of the high alps, lunar landscapes in Central Asia and exotic markets and food along the 12,000 km Marco Polo route.

It is three weeks from today that I fly on QANTAS to Shanghai. A couple of days to get settled, piece the bike together, a little sightseeing and meeting my traveling companions.

I have been training now for many weeks, practicing bike mechanics and erecting my tent, whilst seeking the relevant visas for these remote lands. I have also purchased numerous bike parts to ward off breakdowns and have purchased a pharmacy of medications. I am as ready as I will ever be.

With family support I am looking forward to the potential of an adventure of a lifetime. A possible regret is that I didn't act with more vigor in seeking kilometer sponsorship to raise funds for deserving charities. Hopefully this will not be my last epic ride, so that on future journeys I can rattle the can for good causes. I believe I will then have credibility when approaching potential sponsors!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.397s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb