Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gold Coast » Surfers Paradise
April 14th 2011
Published: April 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Keith took us around Surfers Paradise on Friday 8th to scout out possibly hostels for the weekend/ following week. This was primarily for the other three, due to the fact that I was going to spend the weekend with my family. After a long walk up and down the beach in the sunshine, observing all of the expensive apartments, we were treated to lunch, then we headed back to Mudgeeraba for our last night. Alex, Jonny and Zach booked Surfers Paradise Resort Hostel for Saturday and Sunday night.
I woke up late on Saturday morning and the others had already been taken to the hostel, so I quickly packed up the rest of my clothes and helped pack up the car for the weekend. Taking rather a long time dismantling a stubborn cot for baby Blake, my first cousin once removed.
The weather had certainly improved that day and once we had arrived at the holiday house I sat out in the sun waiting for my cousin David to arrive with his wife Jodie and young children Sienna and Blake. Almost as soon as they arrived we headed down to a local beach and after a short while Keith went to collect my other cousin Melanie from the airport. The rented house was very modern and clean with a huge balcony and plenty of lawn. David, Keith and I collected Hake and chips for dinner, which was a lovely treat, and while we waited for it to cook they showed me the harbour.
We spent most of the following day on the beach and I was woken at 8 am, much earlier than I have been used to, but it was pleasantly refreshing, I quite like mornings. Dee also made me tea throughout the day, steadily feeding my addiction of 5 mugs a day, if not more. Whilst we were at the beach Dee came into the sea with me and the rest of the family, it was the first time that she has been in the ocean for 9 years! I like to think that I had something to do with it, and she definitely enjoyed it. I also went for a long walk with David in the afternoon and we had a huge catch-up. When we got back to the house David decided that I, Mel and Jodie should accompany him to Byron Bay, while the grandparents watched the children, so we had a nice afternoon looking around the shops and then had a couple of beers in a pub right on the beach. David also treated us to a barbeque and I got to know Blake and Sienna better.
On Monday I was woken up at 6.30 by Jodie feeding Blake, (my bed was moved into the dining room/ kitchen) and I decided to get up then because David, Keith and I were due to play golf at a local course at 8.30. When we tee'd off there were no other people on the course and it was a glorious morning. The golf course had wonderful views and the sun was out for the whole morning. I lost quite a few balls in the various lakes during the 9 holes, but altogether it was a lot of fun. I also had a go with David's brand new driver which was extremely powerful. We got back in time for lunch and at 2pm Keith drove Mel and I to the airport, so we said our goodbyes and Dee gave me a generous amount of money which I didn't realise I was accepting until I opened the card on the way to the airport! Far too kind of her. We dropped Melanie at the airport then Keith kindly took me to the Surfers Paradise Resort and I booked Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday night there, which was what the others had done. The Hostel was probably the best one that we have been to yet. If not, then second. It had a volley ball/small tennis court at the front, a pool and a table tennis table downstairs.
We got the free hostel bus into the main part of Surfers Paradise on Tuesday morning to do some shopping and go to the beach. I lost the others somehow, but came back to the hostel after getting some food and had a nice quiet afternoon on the beach, where I fell asleep, but luckily didn't get burnt! We played plenty of table tennis that evening and got quite an early night after a dominos pizza at discount price. The weather was amazing again all day and the constant rain now seems a thing of the past, fingers crossed.
I shared boiled eggs with Jonny yesterday morning and the kitchen, although smaller than Bunk's was much cleaner. We got the bus into town again, and this time we split up and Jonny and Zach did some shopping whilst Alex and I walked down to the beach a lay there for a good 4 hours, again I was careful with the sun cream and didn't get burnt. We also went in the sea, which was very rough, with huge waves, bigger than any I have ever seen before, but also very refreshing. The day went quickly and we had some beers in the evening and relaxed in the bar at the hostel. Yesterday evening we also booked up our campervan with the company 'Jucy' which seemed to be the cheapest that we could find.
Today we are back in Brisbane, because this is the closest place that we can pick up the campervan. We got the bus to the nearest train station today and from there got the train here. It was only about $15 altogether, which was good for the length of the journey. It took about 2 hours. We are back in Bunk Hostel for tonight, this time in an 8 person dorm, which has a good view. It feels very strange that the last time we were here was two weeks ago. Australia has gone so fast, but it does feel like we have been away for a long time now. I am looking forward to the campervan tomorrow, which should be good fun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb