Day 19


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Glasshouse Mountains
December 18th 2015
Published: December 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 19
Today we got up and cleaned the apartment before checking out and got on the road to the glasshouse mountains!
We stopped off at a few beaches to have a paddle and a little walk then got on the highway, to Opals down under! Lots of beautiful stones and a story of one being found in the rubbish pile of somewhere, which actually turns out to be an 18kt opal worth $58,000!!!
We then stopped at a little cafe round the corner which was so eccentric in decor, complete with smurf, then I'm sure the Christmas fairy puked up all over it too lol but very cute! A group of German folk singers (complete with outfits) also stopped there for lunch wunderbar! Lol
We got back on the road to the glasshouse mountains and stopped off at the glasshouse mountain lookout which was quite spectacular! We then arrived at the lodge!
We are staying in the old church haha ironic! I've not burst into flames just yet! Hooray! It was relocated here from elsewhere in Queensland called wivenhoe from what I can gather! The ecolodge was first all set up in 2004!
They have over 50 fruit trees they've planted from around the world and have recently started to grow their own coffee beans and send them to merlo in brissy to be roasted!
Since the owner bought this place 30 years ago, which used to be a pineapple farm, he has planted a rainforest walk which has encouraged hundreds of wildlife species to return to the area! Also over 1000 trees have been planted here by visitors!
The church is the only accommodation here to have a kitchenette so there is a large kitchen and eating area made from a train carriage for everyone to use! Very quirky! Hubs is very pleased that they have a communal fridge where he can get a can of beer for $3!!
After loafing about here for a bit and having a look round we went to supermarket for a few bits then came back here (there's no tv, no pool or beach - what's a girl to do!) I decided to get my kindle out to relax and read, but hubster was bored so we played cards then he decided he wanted to teach me chess!
Is this not the most useless and pointless game??!! Anyway he didn't tell me about check/checkmate so my bishopy dude was in line to take his King - so I said can I do this (move diagonal and take your King and win?) he said 'oh yeah, um but I was meant to tell you that you have to say check first so I have a chance to move my King if I can' so anyway he said I could win cos he didn't tell me!!
But really what's the point in that?!! Why tell someone you're about to win so they can try stop you, if they've not figured it out that's surely their lookout! Anyway...!
We then got rumbles in our tumbles so decided Chinese was the way forward! We went to a restaurant called pineapple patch!!! Random!!
Food was lovely, And hubs was super chuffed as he was asked for ID! Haha!
So after that I drove back here and there we are, so ends our day!!
Nunite all and all a good night
Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb