another 'vacation', this time in Gladstone


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Gladstone
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Days 31=>34 (+ probably a few weather days)
Elliot Heads (35 miles), South of Baffle Creek (39 miles), Agnes Water (n of) (31 miles), Gladstone (50 miles)

Cyclone ' Hamish ' is closing on land south of Cairns. Though I'm well south (in Gladstone), I think I'll wait out the winds and rain from it (rather strong), will probably be here a few days - as the weather isn't supposed to get here until tomorrow (and I don't want to be paddling in the Shoalwater Bay area when it does get here. On my last trip (in '06), Cyclone 'Larry' ('Hamish' is being compared to it) had me pinned down in Mackay a few days.

I've been seeing quite a few sea turtles - but they spook easily (just as the camera is ready to shoot).

Been making too many mistakes on this trip: The other day, I was getting frustrated at not finding something in my day hatch - after pulling nearly everything out - I finally found it, when everything was put back, I discovered that my paddle had decided to go for a 'swim'. Luckily it was rather calm and daytime - I was able to reach for a spare half paddle and reverse paddle to retrieve the runnaway. (On my 1st paddle in '93, just outside the surfzone in the darkness of pre-dawn, while situating gear, I thought my paddle had been fastened to 'yak, it wasn't, I lost it - note: when solo, alway carry a spare (when not solo - always carry a spare - for the other guy) ).

A little busy right now, I'll try to write later (I sure will have plenty of time - while I'm 'vacationing' in all of the wind and rain from Hamish).





Advertisement



7th March 2009

catching up
Hi, Andy, just found a bit of time to ready your blog! We are about 3-4 days of paddling apart - I had to take Sat and Sun off in Hervey Bay for recovery of my skin, and Mon and Tues looks like the cyclone kicks in. Maybe we meet somewhere around Mackay. Keep up the good paddling! Cheers, Freya Hoffmeister
8th March 2009

Waiting for Hamish?
Hi Andy. Enjoy reading the details of your daily adventures (drifting away paddles and mud walks) - sounds like paddling along the Big Bend Paddling Trail on Florida's Gulf Coast. Are you able to keep up with Freya's progress as she paddles just south of you? I believe her blog put her in Hervey Bay yesterday (3.6.2009). She apparently is suffering from abrasion sores (backrest and arm pits - ugh!). Her trip is 48 days in length as of today and is also waiting a bit for Hamish to do it's thing Current weather report: North and central Queensland are bracing for Category 5 Cyclone Hamish which could be more destructive than Cyclone Larry - Hamish, upgraded to a potentially deadly Category 4 storm yesterday, had winds gusting up to 230km/h last night but early today was upgraded to a more lethal Category 5 storm. The bureau's warning said Hamish "poses a very significant threat to coastal and island communities between Bowen and Bundaberg". "The cyclone is expected to maintain a southeast track parallel to the coast during the next 24 to 48 hours." Stay safe and have fun.
8th March 2009

see you in Mackay?
Hello Freya, Wow, you are making great progress, and you are about to enter an area (SE trades) where you will 'fly'. Though, my advantage in the Romany Explorer has been the ability to handle heavy surf - I really didn't encounter any in the Sydney to Brisbane stretch (except for a mistake I made in the Port Stevens area). If you don't pass me in the Shoalwater area, I'm sure you will go by me in Mackay, I plan to stay there a couple or 3 days. (Last time I left the kayak at the Marina - they put it inside a locked area for me - I hope to do the same this time) I'll ask for you at the Marina desk. I have developed a skin rash every trip. I've made adjustments over the trips - to a limited success. (sprayskirt, hygene, creams, 'home remedies', etc.). The fishermen I talk to say they just put up with it. In my case - I think I agrivate the situation by starting early in the morning (eg: 2am), skin gets when going out through surf, and sits rubbing against itself and sprayskirt until sun starts drying things off.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb