the sandiest Island in the world


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
January 13th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Fraser Island Safari Route


Scooteroo tourScooteroo tourScooteroo tour

It felt so good to ride a bike again.
Hello my dear friends,
Well I've left Anges Water a fiew days ago. It is definitely a lovely place to relax. I acutally took that surf lesson but it needs a lot practice. A cool thing to do is a scooteroo tour. We rode on little chopper type scooters. That ment no gears almost easier than riding a bicycle.

So after Anges Water (I called it actually Clerasil) I went to Hervey Bay. HB is a spread out town with no centre. The only reason for me to come here is Fraser Island. My Selfdrive Safari started here. Although I had booked a package for the Whitsundays an Fraser Island, the costs kept on adding up... here 50 bucks for the insurance..there something for food... and there and elsewhere.. LOL :-) oh well no one said holidays are cheap. So I stop complainig.

Fraser Island is the largest sand Island in the world and itself has practically only sandroads... roads... lets call them tracks. Ok I thought I am an experienced driver... but there's nothing like driving in the sand. I am used to drive 4wd in the snow without any trouble, but sand... hugh its tough. We changed
Scooteroo tour2Scooteroo tour2Scooteroo tour2

I look a litle bit like one guy from the village people... but I am not gay!
the driver a couple times and with some guys on the wheel I saw my life pass by. They raced through the tracks like maniacks.... the instructor said keep up the momentum or you get stuck... some of them used lots of momentum... more than enough...LOL

But on the other hand the Island with its chrystal clear lakes was worth all the fear. Actually On the last seat in the truck I really started enjoying the ride. I called it the zero Gravity seat. Because most of the time I was flying. :-)

The trip was quite short, but then again long enough if you have some idiots aboard. Well I would say some of the guys were a little bit suspicious in the beginning and some stayed it until the end.Again I can recommend the ride.

Cu later in Noosa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Scooteroo tour3Scooteroo tour3
Scooteroo tour3

Our Group.
4WDs on Fraser4WDs on Fraser
4WDs on Fraser

On some touristic sites the 4wds gather like cows.
Wreck of the Maheno on FraserWreck of the Maheno on Fraser
Wreck of the Maheno on Fraser

You are not allowed to enter but its still nice to look at it from the outside.
View south from the Indian HeadView south from the Indian Head
View south from the Indian Head

Its the first time I drove on a beach... its so cool to run along it at 80km/h
View north from the Indian HeadView north from the Indian Head
View north from the Indian Head

Just behind the next cape are the champaign pools... unfortunately they didn't serve any.. :-/
Shark on the beachShark on the beach
Shark on the beach

We weren't allowed to swim in the ocean, beacause its a major breeding ground for sharks. Mat from Brazil still wanted to take a closer look.
need a hand?need a hand?
need a hand?

We luckily just got stuck twice.
Our crazy groupOur crazy group
Our crazy group

no comment!


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 22; qc: 101; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb