Getting to Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
November 11th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 58, 08/11/11
Left Tropic Days this morning as was fed up with tent and it was miles out of town. I moved to a hostel called Caravellas which was on The Esplanade. I paid for one night as didn't know what I was going to be doing. Spent morning by the pool and had a swim.
I was thinking to myself and just thought 'I've got to get out of Cairns and be with friends again' so I got showered and went into town to find the cheapest way to get to Melbourne tomorrow.
After shopping around I booked a flight to Sydney (which stopped off twice before I got there, meaning 3 flights) and then a Greyhound to Melbourne which worked out the cheapest.
In the evening I had a thorough pack as putting your luggage on a plane is different from on a coach.

Day 59, 09/11/11
Hung around for a bit in the morning and airport shuttle picked me up at 12:30. Got to airport at 1pm and first flight was at 2pm to Townsville. The plane was tiny and extremely empty. The flight time was 29 minutes which was very odd because as soon as we got up we went straight back down again.
At Townsville I got off and then they called the second flight which was exactly the same plane so I got back on for a second flight to Gold Coast of 1hr and 45mins.
At Gold Coast I was happily sitting minding my own business when my name got called over the tanoy to report to Gate 4, worried me a bit but it turns out they got the wrong person.
The last flight to Sydney was just over an hour and I arrived in one piece and also got upgraded on every flight to emergency exit row seats with extra leg room.
Train into Sydney and stayed at Base - the very first hostel I stayed in nearly 2 months ago.

Day 60, 10/11/11
Today I spent all day on the Greyhound. 14 hours from Sydney to Melbourne. Left at 9am, arrived at 11pm with no entertainment on board to coach apart from my iPod.
Taxi to hostel and it is I think the best hostel I've stayed in so far.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb