Farewell Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 9th 2005
Published: December 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Where to start?

Sorry we haven't added much lately...

As I write this I am a little emotional...a little from the booze, a little beacuse I just clocked off and took my PJ's jersy off for the last time.

In the last three weeks, we actually did touristy stuff. We did the "Kuranda/Skyrail" , which the bar was nice enough to cover...Basically, we took a glorified ski lift over the rainforest. We stopped a different locations along the way to learn about the area and take some of the most beautiful photos. Waterfalls like you wouldn't believe. Kuranda is a "little hole", mainly tourist attractions. The line of shops where opal store, leather good, clothing, food, opal, leather...etc...so we just went to the closest pub. The way back we took the train. AWESOME...once we started on the train, I asked one of the addentants if I could get in the engine, she said we where stopping in a bit at a waterfall and could go up, mainly because my wife was good looking. We got some great photos of the train. All day trip...

Next week, we went on a afternoon trip to Trinity Beach and Crystal Cascades, we swam in the ocean for the first time, and it was too hot so Matt ( a mate and my manager ) went to the closest pub for drinks, while Heather and Haley ( another great friend )stayed and sun bathed. Crystal Cascades was amazing. The tour is run by locals that take you the back way to an awesome spot and not easy to get to. A great waterfall, and everyone was complaining how cold the water was. Preparing myself for Georgian Bay, I jumped in. It was cold yes, but bareable, as I sat on a ledge and let the waterfall massage my back.
Next day, we went on sailing trip that we won a 2-4-1 through a pub crawl...(better to tell the story then write)...the trip was pretty cool. 2 hours of sailing out, to a rigging that they have. We snorkled for the first time and saw the reef, amazing how clear the water is. The dam fish though, they know how to swim past you, always let to right so that when you follow them too far, your snorkel goes under the water, and salt water sucks...

That Saturday, Matt another mate and myself went to the Cascino, the only reason Heather let me go was so she could get her hair done...the other guy knew how to count, and Matt played most of my hands at an easy BlackJack (pontoon). I walked out $200 up and Matt $500 up. I gave Heather half, her hair cost it all...BUt she looks great.

This week has been a week of work for Heather, 7pm-3am every night, and me? 10am-6/7pm and drinking til minmum 12...

PJ O'briens has been great to the both of us, we have built some great friendship throughout, and it is tough to leave. Heather shed some tears last night...I started having shots poured for me at 10:30 this morning, and had 11 by 3pm, and you all know I can't handle my booze. What a day, it finally hit me when they TOLD me I had to clock off...I went in to the staff room, took off my PJ's shirt, realized it was for the last time and broke down...I am not an emotion person and the reason I am writing this is to show how great this place is and how much fun I have had...

Time to go, my Day manager Rob, just came in to the office complaining how thirsty he is and that another Kilkenny is beilng poured for me...

Love you all, miss you all....
and the next time we write will be after the whitsundays either in Sydney or on the way...
N



Advertisement



9th December 2005

Things could be worse than hot water
Hey guys Glad to hear that you are having a blast. Although I don't feel sorry for you that it is too hot over there because on Wed. morning we woke up to 2 1/2 feet of snow that we had to dig out of at our house and yes...it is snowing again!!! Tis the season! It's not so bad digging out now cause as soon as we're done we go relax in the hot tub with a cold one and the snow falling on us so at least we have something to look forward to now. Anyways everyone is great Nathan doesn't stop talking and Isaac is crawling around the floor and walking around the furniture everywhere. We will talk to you soon. Love Carrie

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb