Both Working


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
September 12th 2005
Published: September 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

We both now have jobs, Heather is working retail, Canterbury, that sells all the Rugby Jersey's. I am working in a pub, PJ O'Briens, just as a bottle monkey.

It has been exciting, this last weekend I worked at the Amatuers horse races at the bar. Funny weekend, a huge booze fest, similar to the wine and food Fest. Our friend have left us, the 2 Germans and a New Zealander have started travelling down the East coast. We plan to meet up with them in Sydney around Christmas.

Our Apartment is awesome...much like a condo. fully furnished...Our home number is 4041 6576, starting with 0011 61 07, I think...

The weather has been hot...around 30 everyday, and this is the spring, around Christmas it will be 40C with 90% humity...Can't wait...

That pretty well sums it up so far...
Great to hear from everyone, we love reading the replies...
Talk to you soon, and MISS YOU ALL...
Love Neil and Heather

Advertisement



12th September 2005

great news
We tried to call a week or so ago when we just had the mobile number and could not get through. I think I missed to 0 in front of the 7 as even after noodling on the net to get Cairns area code we could not get through. Hopefully the new number will work. Glad to hear that you are employed and making friends. I hope too that your schedules allow you some time together!!! Married bliss and all that! ANd for sure Heather can give up going to tanning salons! Not much new on our front. Millie grows ever bigger and Fred is accomodating her. We are planning my retirement and I have left my job at the airport after 13 years! What an amazing amount of time and events that has been. I am now a sort of hatchet man so no too popular but it will get worse when I actually start recommending changes rather than just talking about them. Finally have the motorcycles on the road and had a great long trip with a fellow BMW rider this past weekend. And saw a musician from Owen Sounda at the Sheep on Sunday, part of a country string band called the Backstabbers. One of our favourite groups. We talked of OS but did not play the do you know game. Occasionally I get some type of messenger mail box that people think you are on line. I let them know that it is not you but have not figured out, nor even tried to figure out, how to remove the service. If people are not getting to you it may be me putting them off. Jo has sent her schedule and Marilyn is thinking of a trip. As I am going to go on a contract from January until the end of March or maybe into April, I do not know if I will be able to get to go. They are dangling big bucks so it is worth it for me to retire and then just go back to work on a contract. Would pay for a few renovations, shush don't let Marilyn hear as she will start planning, or a newer motorcycle or trips. Or pay off the rest of the debt on the house-boring! I am on a retirement course and the financial advisor said to stop saving and spend. Music to my ears! Marilyn was a littel less excited as she can see me scourring Value Village or Ragtime etc. for days on end! Scourring the tub is more in her plans for me! Stey well and remember the cancer rate in Oz as you are tempted to get nut brown!
16th September 2005

At Last
Neil you must be impressed i"ve actually found your sight to email you-have read all your jourbnals to date all sounds awesome and I'm so so happy you decided to go for it. I miss you at work -not so many laughs-but a couple of new staff-very nice. Have just returned from 3 weeks in England including a Trip to Scotland-Aberdeen and Edinburgh-saw friends -lots of lovely countryside-only downer saw a big decline in my parents health in a year. Continue to enjoy and look forward to hearing more.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.6kb