Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
September 2nd 2005
Published: September 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello all...

We have been in Cairns about a week now. We have a place to stay, we have rented a condo about a 15min walk from downtown. the address is

133/12 Gregory St
Cairns, QLD
4870

We also have a cell phone, our very first one.... 0431 155 138, if any wants to chat...

We have had a great time at the hostel so far, a lot of walking around. On Wednesday we went out with a group from here on a Bar Hop. we went with 6 Irish, 1 Scotish, 1 New Zealander, 1 from Wales (Stork, or the great white hype...funny), 3 from Gremany, and 2 from England. The night was awesome...the bars are the same as Canada, but they had competions...Heather and I competed in a couples competion, and won a 2-4-1 pass for a sailing thing. They teach you how to sail a huge racing sail ship. Its going to be alot of work, but fun. It was a great Drunken night, everyone was pretty rough the next day...Heather had some street meat, the only hotdog vender in all of Australia.

We are still looking for jobs, Heather has a trial job starting Tuesday, but I'm sure she will excell.

Hope all is well with everyone, and we love reading your replies...
Talk to you soon,
Love
Neil and Heather

Advertisement



3rd September 2005

What's Cairns like
Great to hear the news of you guys settling in in Cairns- great to hear about the bars, but WHAT'S CAIRNS LIKE? I've been watching the temperatures in Oz and it looks like it's great summer weather there. Did you rent the condo from someone who will be needing it when it's summer there? or is it a week by week rental? I assume it is furnished? What kind of job is Heather doing? I know it's a trial job (whatever that is) but is it in retail, waitressing or what? These are the kind of details I'm interested in. Joanne has given us her busy time schedule- in other words she has a conference to organize that takes place in June and for the 6 weeks leading up to it, she can't take time off. Well I wasn't interested in going there during our summer any way, and not before Christmas, so all this info helps me narrow it down. Ron isn't sure he is going because of new project he is starting at the downtown office on Tuesday, either that or because of Millie but I am quite willing and able to go myself, probably for 3 weeks. Haven't been to Cairns but I may be more interested in going to Perth and Brome on the west coast and of course spending some time in Sydney. Have't started to work on it yet. Last time Joane wanted to rent a beach house for a week and we didn't see ourselves staying in one place that long but perhaps if we all did that (at the same house) it would be great fun and would give us time to visit with each other. News here? Well Millie is still the apple of our eye and we aren't the crazy uptight parents we were when she was first arrived. She now having an afternoon nap with Ron- it's Saturday of the long weekend. We just came back from Hudson (almost to Montral) where they have a big feamarket every Saturday. We had never gone so we took Millie and away we went. Ron bought a print from an Ottawa artist. When we got home, Ron looked him up on Canada 411 or whatever, turns out the old guy lives up the street at The Highland apts on St. Laurent and we are going over there on Wednesday! Oops, Ron is calling me as we are going over to friends place for dinner and I have to wash my hair...I will continue this another day. We are going to Lorriane's- the artist who did the man drinking the wine that is the dining room Love to you both- you are having the trip of a lifetime!!
4th September 2005

Good News
It is great to hear from you ! and with good news too! It must feel good to be setting down at least temporary roots and out in a real job hunt. Good luck on that to both of you. I have left my job and start a new one onTuesday with plans to fully retire next March or April. Millie growing like a horse. I am growing like a pig. Marilyn is growing to be more like Shrek's girlfriend Fiona! Ask her why next time you write or speak to her. By the way actually write an e-mail to me or Marilyn as I am sending stuff to your hot mail account but not sure if you are using it. I will drop you from my joke listing if you are not using it and just use this blog site to write. We saw Dolly on Wednesday and she did Jolene and I Will Always Love You. I am sure the woman beside me was wondering why I was bawling and Marilyn was singing at the top of her voice and waving her hands in the air! Ah well, only we were there for the event that inspired the tears and song. Jo must be missing you terribly so make sure to keep in touch with her. She is the pitts in returning e-mails calls etc. so do not take it personally. I do not! Well 1230 Am here so of to bed. Hoist a few for us!
5th September 2005

phone number
your phone number is incomplete. We tried to call just it, 0431155138, as set out in your blog and get a not in service. I then tried the 011+61 to get to Australia and then your number, again to a not in service. I then did the 011 61 7 ( i think 7 is for Cairns) and your number and again "we're sorry..." etc. So I am not sure how to get your phone to work. Any help would be appreciated! I'll keep tryig to find out the right city code as I suspect that that is the issue. We are having a super long weekend and almost want to call in sick tomorrow to my first day in a new job!
6th September 2005

MISS YOU GUYS
SOUNDS LIKE YOU GUYS ARE HAVING A GREAT TIME. AND I AM REALLY SORRY WE DIDN'T GET A CHANCE TO SAY GOOD-BYE. BUT AT LEAST THIS WAY IT FEELS LIKE YOU GUYS ARE STILL IN OTTAWA BUT NOT VISITING FOR AREALLY LONG TIME.(NEIL I AM YELLING AT YOU JUST IN CASE YU HAVE TROUBLE HEARING ME. SIOBHAN LET ME BORROW THE WEDDING PICS CD TO MAKE A COPY. THEY ARE GREAT! GOOD LUCK WITH THE JOB SEARCHING. AND I WILLL TALK TO YA SOON! WENDY
8th September 2005

hi again
Heather I am so blue that I missed your call. I saw the number on the phone when I got in from shopping, and had no idea who it was. It comes up differently then Canadian numbers. It's good to hear that you two are doing well. What jobs do you have? The address you gave, is that where you will be living all year long?? Oh, and thanks for my post card. It was adorable! Anyways, I've gotta go. It was great to hear from you again, and hopefully next time I'll be home when you call. Miss Ya (including Neil) Siobhan

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb