Cairns, Kuranda and Koalas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
September 7th 2005
Published: September 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey,

Had a really lovely few days in Carins, which is sort of a big seaside town. First day spent down by the 'lagoon' which is sort of a beach substitute cos the beach is a bit like western-super-mud if youve ever been there. But the lagoon is a lovely big salt water swimming pool where everyone hangs out- I bumped into two lots of fellow hosteller there and we spent the day getting slowly roasted together. In the evening I met up with Sharon again and we went back to her hostel and cooked.

The next day I went up to Kuranda- 'the village in the rainforest'' and I was feeling quite smug cos I hadnt booked a tour but was on my own little adventure. I paid 'johns bus'$4 instead of $50 which the tour would have cost. He took me up to the skyrail terminal which is like a ski lift thing through the rainforest- amazing- up to Kuranda which is this little touristy place with loads of craft markets and hippies and walks through the rainforest- just up my street actually. I treated myself to an opal ring from this sweet old ladies shop. I just fell in love with the ring and I tried it on and it was a perfect fit so it was like a cinderella moment if you know what I mean...

Anyway, one of these days Ill get to a decent internet cafe where I can actually upload photos!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th September 2005

Sunday Afternoon
Hello Jenna! Ive been hearing all about your adventures and looking at your wonderfull photos love from GRAN BAKER

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb