The Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 27th 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So were in Cairns, beautiful hot Cairns, it's the hottest xmas were see for a while im sure. We spent xmas day by the pool swiming in 30 plus heat to Jingle Bells blaring out in the background! Very odd.

Originally for the barrier Reef we'd both booked to do an introductory dive heading 12 metres under water, to be honest I was a bit scared of the idea but Will convinced me it would be one of the best experiences of my life. I n the end when after getting excited they wouldn't let me dive because I'd had slight Astma growing up! However Will got too, even though he'd had Bronchitus and a number of chest infections. I got to snorkel and too be honest I was happy.

Before we ventured into the un known we had a short briefing, the only thing I was thinking was Sharks, presuming it might be a shark free zone, but evidently its not you just have to let them be! nice!

It was actually very romantic paddling hand in hand snorkelling the reef, the fish were amazing literally the size of my foot, multi coloured like the rainbow, stunning! After a buffet lunch we then headed to turtle bay.

Turtle Bay was where Will did his dive, however it turns out that while he was diving I saw the most magical display of fish ever. I was of snorkeling on my own when I came across some shallow coral, it wasn't as shallow as thailand but if I put my feet down I'd be touching it which is a no no!

As I floated over the coral I couldn't believe the sight as hundreds of tiny electric blue fish came heading towards me, they were swimming around through my fingers. As I turned a different direction I was then greeted by lots of multicoloured fish, schools all around me. The whole time I kept thinking wheres Will! He was so gutted he missed it, it turns out that he saw bugger all diving and I was the one that got to swim literally with the fish surrounding me.

I truely recommend the Reef in the future, amazing! and I didn't see one shark!

Next stops New Zealand, 6 weeks left!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



30th December 2006

Barrier reef
Hi you two, that is great, see you in 6 weeks,
2nd January 2007

Happy New Year 2007
Hi there you two what a lovely experience seeing you in Cairns and snorkelling on The Great Barrier Reef how lucky you both are. Now you are in NZ enjoy every moment will see you both soon now. Love Mum Mike and Pete xxx

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb